Expert Tactican and Bluff?

Luddite

First Post
I have a feeling this has been asked before, but It is not in the WotC FAQ or Errata (that I saw) and I can't search. So.....

If a character with Expert Tactician Bluffs an oppent, when does the extra attack come?

- On the same round as the successful Bluff
- On the following round of the Bluff
- Not at all

Thought, and any pointers to "offical" opinions would be appreciated.

-The Luddite
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Here's what Caliban answered when this question was asked a few months ago. I kept it for future reference and I'm too lazy to type so Viva el cut and paste :D

"I'm afraid it doesn't work quite that way.

Bluffing someone doesn't cause them to lose their dex bonus. It makes them unable to use it against your next attack (which will allow you to make a sneak attack).

Expert Tactician doesn't grant you an extra attack until they have lost their Dex bonus, so it won't trigger until after you have used your normal attack after bluffing them. It will then grant an additional attack (which won't be a sneak attack, because they only lost their dex bonus against the previous attack). "


So the answer would be on your next action, which should be next round unless hasted in some way.
 
Last edited:

I agree completely. You actually have to make the next attack for them to lose their dex bonus. From the SRD:

If the character is successful [with Bluff], the next attack the character makes against the target does not allow him to use his Dexterity bonus to Armor Class (if any).


So, when you finally make the Bluffed attack (hopefully you are hasted or something like that), you also get a free attack, and for a rogue they would both be sneak attacks. Two rogues with opportunist would then oscillate once and get another attack, etc. It gets pretty messy.

-Fletch!
 

mkletch said:
So, when you finally make the Bluffed attack (hopefully you are hasted or something like that), you also get a free attack, and for a rogue they would both be sneak attacks

Actually, as the quote from Caliban demonstrated, the expert tactician attack would not be a sneak attack. The opponent loses his dex bonus only for the next single attack, as per the core rules.
 

Elder-Basilisk said:


Actually, as the quote from Caliban demonstrated, the expert tactician attack would not be a sneak attack. The opponent loses his dex bonus only for the next single attack, as per the core rules.

I stand corrected...

-Fletch
 

Remove ads

Top