RigaMortus2 said:
Can a dead person walk around? Take actions? Breathe? Eat? Talk? It doesn't say they can't, so therefore I guess they can!
I think you overcame the burden, which had in fact shifted to you, in proving the ability to walk, eat, take actions, breate, talk, are all disabled when your condition is dead. You drew on the real world definition of the word dead.
I am not saying we are unable to make conclusions about things not in the rules. I am saying that when you are making a claim about something not in the rules, the burden shifts to the person making that claim to demonstrate how that IS the rules rather than just one of two or more reasonable intepretations of the rules.
In this case, we have several interpretations of the rules. Thanee stated ""you can learn any spell, you just can't cast it...that's the rules, not my interpretation of them." I am saying that the question of what spells a caster can learn is not in the rules, and hence we are no longer discussing explicit RAW but an interpretation which needs support (like a real world definition, or other rules, or context, or logic, or something).
Here are some reasonable intepretations:
1) You can learn any spell, but you can only cast spells on your spell list (the Thanee position).
2) You can only learn spells on your spell list, and can cast any spell you can learn.
3) You can only learn spells on your spell list, and can only cast spells on your spell list. Yes, this is actually different than the above interpretation, because extra spell lets you learn a spell.
4) You can learn any spell on your spell list, or which you independantly research, or which are granted to you by a feat like Extra Spell or a special ability (like the Mage of the Arcane Order spellpool special ability); and you can cast any spell you learn.
5) You can learn any spell on your spell list, or which you independantly research, or which are granted to you by a feat like Extra Spell or a special ability; but you can only cast spells on your spell list.
6) You can only learn spells on your spell list; but you can cast any spell you have learned or which you independantly research, or which are granted to you by a feat like Extra Spell or a special ability.
There are others, but I think I made my point. We are dealing with one reasonable intepretation here, and not a situation of "that's the rules" like Thanee said earlier. I think there is room for other reasonable intepretations and it's an issue worthy of debate.