Extra Spell

Does the Extra Spell feat let you add a spell that is not from your class spell list?

  • Yes

    Votes: 26 15.0%
  • No

    Votes: 147 85.0%

I say that it should, based on the fact that Expanded Knowledge allows you to get a psionic power from any class's power list in the same manner.

Whether the FAQ bothered to take into account what the designer actually intended is another matter entirely.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


When the Extra Spell feat originally came out (Tome and Blood, 3.0, no duskblades, no warmages) it was paired with another feat called Extra Slot. The Extra Spell feat was mainly for spontanious casters, allowing them to get another spell to choose from without having to gain more levels. The Extra Slot feat was mainly for prepared casters as it allowed them to prepare an extra spell each day. Neither feat allowed spells outside of the class list. Their power was strong enough without that little bit of extra oomph.

Then along comes arcane casters with access to every spell on their list. Extra Slot would still work for them; yet most players want to get more than a sorcerer or bard would get from the feat to make it worthwhile for their chosen class. Some feats are not meant for some classes.

In the case of the wizard (For classes such as wizard that have more options for learning spells) why would this apply to the duskblade? It is not a class that has more options for learning spells. Never mind how it applies to wizards; it does not apply to duskblades. Period.

Ciao
Dave
 

Aaron L said:
I say that it should, based on the fact that Expanded Knowledge allows you to get a psionic power from any class's power list in the same manner.

Whether the FAQ bothered to take into account what the designer actually intended is another matter entirely.

There is a huge difference between the wording of expanded knowledge and the wording of extra spell, which actually argues against extra spell allowing a caster to choose off list spells.

First expanded power uses the term "add" - the same as the warmage and beguiler abilities - but not the "learn" language from extra spell.

Much more importantly, expanded knowledge explicitly states "You can choose any power, including powers from another discipline's list or even another class's list." Extra spell has no such wording. As a matter of fact, all abilities I can find that let you go "off list" explicitly state that they allow this; extra spell does not.

I don't see as much ambiguity as other people here (though there really isn't that much as there is close to 90% agreement and that's remarkable for the rules forum on a disputed topic).
 

wildstarsreach said:
Yes, it is not meant to be. Do you think that you could cast two spells in one round. He swift actions a wraithstrike, and the casts as part of a full attack through arcane channeling a second spell. No, I think not. I'll admit that the rules and opinions are against me but this from that standpoint is not as broken as stated by others.

No.

Arcane channeling is a standard action.

You don't get to do "standard" actions as part of a full-attack action. A full-attack action allows you to make more than one attack not take more than one standard action.

A full-attack action is very specific.

The logic path you are following is the same as applying manyshot to all attacks being made when the archer has more than one attack.
 

irdeggman said:
No.

Arcane channeling is a standard action.

You don't get to do "standard" actions as part of a full-attack action. A full-attack action allows you to make more than one attack not take more than one standard action.

A full-attack action is very specific.

The logic path you are following is the same as applying manyshot to all attacks being made when the archer has more than one attack.

A 13+ level duskblade can combine casting (and channeling) a touch spell with a full attack action - this is explicit. In effect casting (and channeling) a touch spell and a full attack are 1 full attack action for the 13+ duskblade. As such, of course a duskblade of this level could cast a swift spell and then us a full attack action to channel a different (target:touch) spell and full attack.
 

Mort said:
A 13+ level duskblade can combine casting (and channeling) a touch spell with a full attack action - this is explicit. In effect casting (and channeling) a touch spell and a full attack are 1 full attack action for the 13+ duskblade. As such, of course a duskblade of this level could cast a swift spell and then us a full attack action to channel a different (target:touch) spell and full attack.


My bad - that is what I get for truncating my reading for higher levels.
 

I agree with the FAQ: the feat is not intended to allow you to add spells that aren't on your class spell list.

That said, I don't feel it is a bad house-rule for the DM to allow this, as feats are precious, and this usage doesn't seem game-breaking. I would include the caveat that the spell level should be taken as the least favourable level for any class that does have access to it.

And, of course, the DM would have to monitor it closely for abuse, but that's a given anyway.
 


Well, no where does it say that monks can't fly...it clearly outlines the movement they can do but never explicitly states that they cannot fly. I suppose this means that my monk character should be able to fly. After all, some sort of flying would be a reasonable explanation for the increase speed and Slow Fall ability.

This is the same rationale as any "the feat/spell/ability doesn't NOT say X" argument.

In order to offer spells off the class's spell list, the Extra Spell feat would have to EXPLICITLY state that it allows the character to choose a spell that is not on his or her spell list, not vaguely imply it in a reference to wizards that could mean any number of other things.

Take for example the Archivist: the ability of the archivist to learn spells not on their own list is clearly spelled out in the class description (any divine caster, cannot be chosen as the automatic spells gained in a level, must be learned from a scroll or other source). This is explicit. Extra Spell is not.

DC
 

Remove ads

Top