Few questiuons about rules

Bayuer

First Post
1. Mage Hand. Can I use it to block square and movent of enemies? It's apper to be true. It occupies 1 square and at conjuration descripion it's said you can't enter square made by conjuration effect. What you think?

2. Polearm Gamble feat. Does shift and teleportation also provokes AoO? I think shift yes but not teleportation.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Bayuer said:
1. Mage Hand. Can I use it to block square and movent of enemies? It's apper to be true. It occupies 1 square and at conjuration descripion it's said you can't enter square made by conjuration effect. What you think?

2. Polearm Gamble feat. Does shift and teleportation also provokes AoO? I think shift yes but not teleportation.
1. Your reading of the rules seems to be correct, but I'd argue the intent. Perhaps the fact that the mage hand is not specifically said to "occupy" squares prevents it from blocking enemies. I'd certainly take issue with a wizard cantrip being used to prevent the Tarrasque from approaching. Heck, you could have 20 wizards pen the thing in with their mage hands!

2. You're correct here. Shifting adjacent to an opponent means that you're actually physically present next to them, while teleporting past them gives no target to attack. Unless you teleport next to the polearm gambler, in which case I'd let him hit you as you materialise.
 

Bayuer said:
1. Mage Hand. Can I use it to block square and movent of enemies? It's apper to be true. It occupies 1 square and at conjuration descripion it's said you can't enter square made by conjuration effect. What you think?

2. Polearm Gamble feat. Does shift and teleportation also provokes AoO? I think shift yes but not teleportation.

1. I don't see anything specifically that would stop you from doing that in the rules but as a DM I wouldn't let you use Mage Hand like that. Seems to powerful for a cantrip.

2. Shift does not provoke OA's
 

Bayuer said:
1. Mage Hand. Can I use it to block square and movent of enemies? It's apper to be true. It occupies 1 square and at conjuration descripion it's said you can't enter square made by conjuration effect. What you think?
I'd argue that the Mage Hand is Tiny at best, and too small to obstruct anyone from passing through.

-O
 

Argyuile said:
2. Shift does not provoke OA's
Actually, by the rules as written, shift does not provoke OA when you leave a square adjacent to an enemy. One could argue, however, that letting the fighter get another opportunity attack each round by just shifting away was not the intended interpretation of the rules.
 

Obryn said:
I'd argue that the Mage Hand is Tiny at best, and too small to obstruct anyone from passing through.

-O
There's no mention about that. The rules are clear. But I think it wasn't the intenion for Mage Hand and wizards just simply didn't think abut that in this way.

Shift dosen't but special rules beat main rules like in this feat case. So when someone teleport to a owner of this feat can he make AoO?

3. Using the cleric daily power of 25lvl Seal of Binding is sure wint when you strike a solo monster with it and you have Divine Regeneration from Epic Destiny - Demigod. This is so broken. Target is stunned. You don't take any damage and the target is slowly killed. You can sustain for 50 rounds. LOL.
 

Bayuer said:
There's no mention about that. The rules are clear. But I think it wasn't the intenion for Mage Hand and wizards just simply didn't think abut that in this way.
I'd argue that the rules aren't clear. The conjuration section says that a conjuration acts like an ally in a space it occupies(blocks enemies not allies) yes. But it does not say all conjurations occupy a space. Some conjurations specifically mention they occupy a space (and IMO therefore act like an ally WRT blocking movement) whereas a some/most do not say that they occupy a space- therefore IMO don't block anything.
 

The conjuration blocking/mage hand debate came up in another thread, and the consensus verdict was "inconclusive". Problem is that if you require the power to specify that it "occupies" space then you get some strange results like Bigby's Icy Grasp (5' tall) and Flaming Sphere (Medium) which attack adjacent creatures not blocking spaces either, which seems wrong to me. I've contacted WotC customer service about it.
 

Remove ads

Top