Elethiomel
First Post
There's been long discussions on this before, and basically it boils down to what you interpret "fight this way" to mean under the two-weapon fighting rules. If you think it means "Enable you to attack with both [weapon A] and [weapon B] interchangeably" then wielding a polearm while also threatening with unarmed strike incurs TWF penalties. If you think it means "Gain bonus attacks from your "off hand" weapon above and beyond what is allowed by your base attack bonus", then wielding a polearm while also threatening with unarmed strike does not incur TWF penalties. I'm in the latter camp, but recognise that it could go either way.As other have noted, you can keep holding your polearm and still make attacks with your unarmed strike. Note that the key word there is "hold"; if you wield your polearm and unarmed strike at the same time you take TWF penalties. And to threaten with both weapons, you need to wield both.
Not everyone agrees with me on this, but just in case your DM does...![]()