Fireball targeting

The PC states the distance. The DM determines the rest...

Wrong - there are more than 1 intersection that meets the distance specification in a square. The caster controls all specifications on his spell that are not random.

The caster determines which grid intersection the spell originates from and the attacker determines which grid intersection he is targetting for a splash weapon.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Actually, a grid intersection doesn't really exist to the character. He's aiming at nothing but a particular spot he can see. So how big is it? We don't really know.

We can sort of infer it though. Basically you can hit any target point within half a square (2.5 feet) of the exact grid intersection without changing the squares that fall within the area of effect. In other words, you'd have to miss by some greater distance than this to cause the area of effect to shift one or more squares in some direction.

That gives us a 5 foot diameter circular target area centered on the grid intersection, which is quite sizable even from hundreds of feet away.
 

We can sort of infer it though. Basically you can hit any target point within half a square (2.5 feet) of the exact grid intersection without changing the squares that fall within the area of effect. In other words, you'd have to miss by some greater distance than this to cause the area of effect to shift one or more squares in some direction.

That gives us a 5 foot diameter circular target area centered on the grid intersection, which is quite sizable even from hundreds of feet away.


Actually everywhere within a specific square is considered within the square. One side is the same as the opposite side for this purpose. When counting distance you count the squares not actual distance within the square. So any given 5 ft square has 4 intersections that are considered "equivalent".

This is a peculiarity that falls out due to the way D&D combat is handled and its heavy reliance on battle grids.

The old pick a distance and direction just doesn't fly the same way it used to because of the changes in the combat system.

Well actually for spells of this nature you actually count distance from intersection to intersection, but the principle is the same - there are multiple intersections that are equivalent and any one can be chosen as the "target' by the caster or the character throwing a splash type weapon (the rules are pretty much the same for those too).

Movement is handled by counting squares and not the location within a given square.
 

Actually everywhere within a specific square is considered within the square. One side is the same as the opposite side for this purpose. When counting distance you count the squares not actual distance within the square. So any given 5 ft square has 4 intersections that are considered "equivalent".
I think he was referring to this rule: "If the far edge of a square is within the spell's area, anything within that square is within the spell's area. If the spell's area only touches the near edge of a square, however, anything within that square is unaffected by the spell." (PHB, page 175)
 

I agree that the 4 corners of a square are considered part of that square, but a fireball targeted at each corner would produce 4 different areas of effect, each shifted one square in a different direction.

You can think of it like this - in theory the fireball can hit anywhere, but for simplicity in mapping its area of effect to a battle grid, we approximate its hit location to the nearest grid intersection. If the nearest intersection is not the one the caster targeted, then that can be considered a miss, since the area of effect will be shifted from what they intended. And since a fireball aimed at a location can't miss at any range (unless it hits something first on its way to the target), this gives us a sense of how big an area the caster has to aim at. (By the way, I just realized I made a slight mistake in my last post... the target area is actually a 5' square centered on the grid intersection, not a 5' diameter circle.)

Getting back to the OP's question though, the rules seem clear that if the caster can successfully "hit" the arrow slit with a ranged touch attack, then they can target any location beyond it as if it was a 5' wide gap in the wall. Treating the arrow slit as a stationary object that is Tiny in size gives it an AC of 5 (10, -5 for 0 Dex, -2 for inanimate object, +2 size modifier). Spells generally don't have range increments, and the arrow slit's cover doesn't apply since the slit itself is being targeted.

Personally, as a house rule, I'd consider adding a range increment (say, 120', giving it the equivalent ranged accuracy of a heavy crossbow). I'd also consider dropping the -2 for inanimate objects (since it's redundant with the -5 for 0 Dex, which already implies immobility). That would still result in a seemingly very low AC, but it's the same AC you'd use when trying to hit 3 inch diameter tree trunk with a crossbow, for example. Arguably the rules make it too easy in general to hit targets at long range with missile weapons, but fixing that would require a fair bit more work.

Of course, another reasonable interpretation of the rules would be to assume the arrow slits are designed to be just under 1 square foot in area and therefore block line of effect. This would make it impossible to cast any spells through them in either direction, and also provide archers with complete protection from fireballs exploding against the outside of the wall.
 

I've got a dungeon coming up that will include archers shooting from murder holes and arrow slits.

I'd anticipate the party's sorcerer will want to launch fireballs so the detonate inside the enemy defences, but there aren't really any rules i'm aware of to determine if this is anything other than an automatic success...
Because it IS automatic success. Why shouldn't it be?

I'm leaning toward making it a touch attack against DC 18 (since they provide a +8 to ac) with a range increment of 20 ft. Any thoughts?

Similarly, any rules for throwing fireballs past the melee line for hitting the monsters only?
Here's the standard line that I wrote years ago which I give in response to fireball questions:

In 3E, when someone casts a spell, people are where they are. If you can see it and it's in range of the spell, you can target it and there's no chance of hitting something else unless the description of the spell specifically notes it. The bit in the Fireball description about, "passing through narrow areas," is a somewhat more exotic application of the spell than simply targeting someone on the other side of a crowded battlefield. Casting a spell so that it passes through a small hole is different than simply making it explode on someone's face (at least as far as Fireball is concerned), mostly since the intention is to have the spell detonate in an area you CAN'T really see. The bit of description about hitting things that may be intervening between the caster and the target has a lot more to do with things like Walls of Force and invisible creatures than it does for normal stone walls and creatures that you can see normally.

As I said, for purposes of targeting spells, attacks, etc. when your turn comes up, things ARE where they ARE and movement is irrelevant. With few exceptions (such as firing missiles at targets involved in melee, or opportunity attacks) their "movement" during the current individuals turn is nil. Yes, this is a gross simplification, but it's the way the rules work. It's also a simplification that avoids having to resolve all kinds of annoying inconsistencies (such as lobbing fireballs or anything else past large intervening opponents who might otherwise be considered to be moving).

There is very seldom any chance of missing what you want to hit with a spell in the same way as you risk missing something with a fired arrow. What you want to hit with a spell - you hit. Where you want a spell effect to go - it goes. AFTER the spell gets to where you wanted it to go, or hits the person you wanted it to hit – THAT is when you generally start dealing with avoiding or diluting the effects by a last minute dodge, resisting the damage dealt, etc. which is reflected in the saving throw.

Note also that it is the CASTER who points in the direction he wants it to go and gives height and distance - NOT THE PLAYER. Where the player wants the spell centered, it's centered - just like any other spell effect. There is no weaving or control in-flight of the detonation bead, and more importantly no such control is needed.

Now, a fireball is not, "drop a bomb on a dime," kind of targeting, but neither is it supposed to require any further special effort to target it - except as specifically described. It is thus safe to assume that a spellcaster can point to what he can see with a reasonable degree of accuracy that SHOULD make it unnecessary for any DM to ADD ON targeting rules in normal combat. If that were not the case then the description of the spell would surely not be going to lengths to talk about targeting through arrow slits, but instead would concern itself AT LENGTH with targeting in NORMAL combat, getting it past large creatures or into melees.

The need to make a ranged touch attack to hit a narrow passage is fairly clearly NOT meant to apply to space between creatures on any normal battlefield. It says, "narrow passage" and then gives a specific example of a passage that is narrow in the form of an arrow slit. This extra step is for when you ARE attempting to, "drop a bomb on a dime," and a finer degree of control than is normal in combat is necessary.

The one other factor that makes fireball different from other spells is that it CAN detonate before it reaches its intended target point if there is anything in the way that it will impact upon. However, as noted that means things you CAN'T see, not things you CAN see.

As always, the right of a DM to use his own preferred interpretation and house rules should (but apparantly never can) go without saying. However, there isn’t a need to look beyond the rules for solutions here because there just isn't a problem to be solved, as such. It only becomes a problem when the DM starts making new assumptions about how the spell SHOULD work, rather than how it DOES work. I don't know what it is about Fireball but it's always seemed to invite DM's to complicate it even further than the RAW description of its function already does.

Note also that Fireball is a spread effect, not a burst effect. Any intervening creatures do not form a physical barrier to the effects any more than they would the targetting. If the caster can see his target point there is no need to roll to bypass intervening creatures or accurately place his targetting, especially above and beyond ANY OTHER SPELL. The spell reaches the target point and detonates in a spread from that point. The effect spreads around everything in its area – not in a line of effect from the center point of the detonation. Even if a target has total cover it doesn't provide a save bonus from a spread effect like fireball. In fact, because it is a spread effect there is little reason to even retain a special case function like targetting THROUGH an arrow slit - but that's because it IS a special case. You don't even need to bother targetting THROUGH an arrow slit if the spread will affect creatures behind it (and it will) - In 3E you only need to target through an arrow slit if you need to hit creatures WAY behind it.
 

If you can see it and it's in range of the spell, you can target it and there's no chance of hitting something else unless the description of the spell specifically notes it.

How do you correlate that position with the line of effect rules:

An otherwise solid barrier with a hole of at least 1 square foot through it does not block a spell’s line of effect. Such an opening means that the 5-foot length of wall containing the hole is no longer considered a barrier for purposes of a spell’s line of effect.
 

I agree that the 4 corners of a square are considered part of that square, but a fireball targeted at each corner would produce 4 different areas of effect, each shifted one square in a different direction.

You can think of it like this - in theory the fireball can hit anywhere, but for simplicity in mapping its area of effect to a battle grid, we approximate its hit location to the nearest grid intersection. If the nearest intersection is not the one the caster targeted, then that can be considered a miss, since the area of effect will be shifted from what they intended. And since a fireball aimed at a location can't miss at any range (unless it hits something first on its way to the target), this gives us a sense of how big an area the caster has to aim at. (By the way, I just realized I made a slight mistake in my last post... the target area is actually a 5' square centered on the grid intersection, not a 5' diameter circle.)


Correct but that is up to the caster to decide.


For spells like a fireball you determine where it "starts". (PHB pg 175)
In each case,you select the spell's point of origin.

A spell’s range indicates how far from you it can reach, as defined in the Range entry of the spell description. A spell’s range is the maximum distance from you that the spell’s effect can occur, as well as the maximum distance at which you can designate the spell’s point of origin. If any portion of the spell’s area would extend beyond this range, that area is wasted.

So if a caster chooses his point of origin at the edge of his range then he will loose half of the area of effect on the spell. But that is his choice and sometimes it is tactically wise to do so. Regardless it is his choice as to where the point of origin is, not the DM's. The DM determines the creatures in the area of effect not the caster.
 

Remove ads

Top