flanking


log in or register to remove this ad

werk said:
It's really hard to tell because you are mapping multiple, dependant scenarios in one diagram.

Oppositional and threatening, that's all you need.

i know it's hard to tell that's why the issue came up. so what technically is considered opposite borders? if i trace a line through the corner of a square and one of the opposing sides, does that count?
 

Mystern said:
edit. according to the picture from phb my diagram should look like this

p p p p p p p
p o o o o o p
p o o o o o p
p o o x o o p
p o o o o o p
p o o o o o p
p p p p p p p

i think

Right.

if i trace a line through the corner of a square and one of the opposing sides, does that count?

No. Two corners, yes. Two borders, yes. One border and one corner, no.

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
Right.



No. Two corners, yes. Two borders, yes. One border and one corner, no.

-Hyp.
then the diagram in the phb is incorrect for the hobgoblin?
the reason i ask is that the phb lists the hobgoblin as having a +2 but not the orc.
i'm just confused as to why this would be . . .
 

Mystern said:
then the diagram in the phb is incorrect for the hobgoblin?
the reason i ask is that the phb lists the hobgoblin as having a +2 but not the orc.
i'm just confused as to why this would be . . .

Stealth errata. The collector's edition has all of them with a +2.
 

irdeggman said:
Stealth errata. The collector's edition has all of them with a +2.
then i'm correct, and a corner and an opposing border does count. that also means my most recent diagram is correct. that also means that when i'm 5 feet away but my buddy only has a 5' reach he still gets the flanking bonus. now here's the real question, i found a feat recently (though i can't remember the name) which would mean that technically i could flank with myself using a spiked chain. anyone know the feat i'm talking about? all i remember is one of the prerequisites is the feat "vexing flanker"
 

Hypersmurf said:
No. Two corners, yes. Two borders, yes. One border and one corner, no.

-Hyp.

That's not what the PHB says.

PHB said:
If the line passes through opposite borders of the opponent’s space (including corners of those borders), then the opponent is flanked.
 

Incorperating the stealth errata, here is a chart showing those potential flanks.

chainoc2bn0.gif
 


werk said:
edit: bah, just look at Frank's image...
I had to break out the grid i made specificly for borders and corners issues. AAnd it hinges on the stealth errata treating opposite corners and opposite borders as mix or match.


deadonea1.gif
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top