FoB with special monk weapons

Legildur

First Post
The rules are unclear to me as to what happens when a monk uses the Flurry of Blows ability with a special monk melee weapon(s) in hand. The example with the quarterstaff in the PHB doesn't really help a lot.

For example, an 11th level Monk has a FOB attack bonus of +8/+8/+8/+3 (ignoring Str modifiers etc). When wielding a special monk melee weapon must he use it during a full-attack sequence? If so, how many times does he attack with the special monk weapon?

Can he choose not to attack with it, must attack with it once only, or up to 4 times? What happens when wielding two such weapons (or a double weapon)? Can he intersperse shuriken attacks and unarmed strikes with a 5ft step (to avoid AOO) in the same round?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

From the SRD:
A monk must use a full attack action to strike with a flurry of blows. When using flurry of blows, a monk may attack only with unarmed strikes or with special monk weapons (kama, nunchaku, quarterstaff, sai, shuriken, and siangham). She may attack with unarmed strikes and special monk weapons interchangeably as desired. When using weapons as part of a flurry of blows, a monk applies her Strength bonus (not Str bonus x 1-1/2 or x 1/2) to her damage rolls for all successful attacks, whether she wields a weapon in one or both hands. The monk can't use any weapon other than a special monk weapon as part of a flurry of blows. In the case of the quarterstaff, each end counts as a separate weapon for the purpose of using the flurry of blows ability. Even though the quarterstaff requires two hands to use, a monk may still intersperse unarmed strikes with quarterstaff strikes, assuming that she has enough attacks in her flurry of blows routine to do so.
Emphasis added.
 
Last edited:

But that isn't clear (enough for me anyway) as to what you can and can't do. The quarterstaff example in the PHB has Ember using both ends in her sequence of attacks. To my mind it still leaves the questions unanswered.
 

The way I understand it, since a monk doesn't need their hands free to make an unarmed attack (ie. they can kick, head-butt, elbow, etc.), when they flurry they can attack with a monk-weapon and unarmed interchangeably.

To use your example, while making a full attack, they can use the first +8 to strike unarmed, the second +8 with a quarterstaff, the last two strikes unarmed again. Or all with a quarterstaff. Or some other combination.

The monk can flurry only with monk weapons, or with her unarmed attack. She can't ever flurry with a greatsword, for example.

You can only flurry with a full attack action, not with a standard action. You can make a 5 ft. step any time during a full-attack routine.

Since flurrying is already equivalent to fighting with multiple weapons, you can't "two-weapon fight" with your quarterstaff somewhere in there.

-- Vurt
 
Last edited:

Also, you can't sadly flurry with a quarterstaff used "two-handed"...in other words to get the 1.5x strength. Kinda annoying, but *shrugs*

Tellerve
 

Well, what is it exactly that you're not clear on?

"A monk must use a full attack action to strike with a flurry of blows." So, flurrying works exactly like a full attack - no other actions are possible in the round except a 5' step and (potentially) free actions. See the combat chapter for more information on full attacks.

"[The monk] may attack with unarmed strikes and special monk weapons interchangeably as desired." You can mix and match attacks with monk weapons and unarmed strikes as part of a flurry.

"In the case of the quarterstaff, each end counts as a separate weapon for the purpose of using the flurry of blows ability." A staff is basically treated as if you were holding two sais (or some other one-handed monk weapon). You can mix and match attacks from either end of the staff.
 

Legildur said:
The rules are unclear to me as to what happens when a monk uses the Flurry of Blows ability with a special monk melee weapon(s) in hand. The example with the quarterstaff in the PHB doesn't really help a lot.

For example, an 11th level Monk has a FOB attack bonus of +8/+8/+8/+3 (ignoring Str modifiers etc). When wielding a special monk melee weapon must he use it during a full-attack sequence? If so, how many times does he attack with the special monk weapon?

He is not required to use the weapon.

Can he choose not to attack with it, must attack with it once only, or up to 4 times? What happens when wielding two such weapons (or a double weapon)? Can he intersperse shuriken attacks and unarmed strikes with a 5ft step (to avoid AOO) in the same round?

He can attack with the quarterstaff up to four times, but any of those attacks can be switched with an unarmed attack. When wielding two weapons or a double weapon, he does not gain any additional attacks. He may choose to use either weapon, or an unarmed attack with each of his attacks. He can throw a shuriken with any of his attacks (once for each shuiken he is holding, more if he has quickdraw). He can take a 5 ft. step between any of his attacks, and he can use it to avoid an attack of opportunity. Aside from not getting any additional attacks for en extra weapon, these are the same rules as any full attack.
 

Shiruken are ammunition now, you can throw one for each attack you have, don't need to have them in hand, don't get them back at the end...

Oh, and to clarify before any questions come up, you can only take one 5 foot step in a full attack action, but it can be at the beginning, the end or at any point in between. (I don't want to nit pick, but the statement by cerberus2112 could be misunderstood to mean a 5 foot step between each attack. Yes, we all know better, but you never know who might come along later and read this.;) )
 

Just to throw some spice in here...BAM...err ahem, anyway...there is some discussion about Rapid shot with shuriken. and...discuss :)

Everything else about the monk and using two monk weapons or a quarterstaff has been said and is correct so hopefully that straightens things out for you.

Tellerve
 

Pagan priest said:
Shiruken are ammunition now, you can throw one for each attack you have, don't need to have them in hand, don't get them back at the end...

Oops. I've always played that you had to have Quick Draw to benefit from a full attack action with a bow. Is that wrong? Drawing ammunition is free? I guess I'm a tough ol' DM.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top