Fomorian & Huge Flail?

According to the 3.5 updates for MMII, the formorian wields a heavy flail sized for a huge size creature that deals 4d6+18 dam.

Is this correct? A heavy flail normally deals 1d10 damage. According to p. 28 of the DMG, increasing a medium weapon to huge (2 steps) changes the damage from 1d10 to 3d8.

Where does the 4d6 in the errata come from? Is this an error? Or am I missing something about weapon sizes? There isn't even a 4d6 option on the 1d10 medium weapon damage row...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A normal flail, made gargantuan, would deal 4d6 points of damage. Maybe that's what he's using. A Huge Giant couldn't, anyways, use a Gargantuan Two-handed weapon... right?

AR
 

The weapon size rules are not my area of expertise. All I know is that the errata states the fomorian uses a heavy flail of huge size that deals 4d6+18 damage. How they get that is beyond me...
 

Er, very interesting. I thought there was an inconsistency between the DMG and the MM in this regard, but I looked again before posting and realized I was wrong.

My guess is that whoever came up with that did what I did- "1d10 becomes 2d8, then each d8 becomes 2d6."
 


I think Jester has the right of it. Someone was looking at the "Medium-Tiny-Large" Weapon Damage table, which says 1d10 Medium becomes 2d8 Large, then looked at the Medium to Large columns again for upgrading the d8's (turning each on into 2d6). That's how you would have done things in 3.0.
 

the Jester said:
(snip) My guess is that whoever came up with that did what I did- "1d10 becomes 2d8, then each d8 becomes 2d6."

This is my preferred method. I think some of the confusion came from the different advancement tables that existed in different books at one point.
 

Remove ads

Top