Not sure I'd agree on that one completely.
If a Fighter had a "Close Burst 1 - Target: All enemies in burst" I wouldn't force him/her to attack a villager just because the villager has no clue who they are and is therefore unwilling to accept a power from the Fighter.
I would, and the fighter knows it, so wouldn't use such things in the presence of those that aren't allied with him.
The Fighter's opinion that the villager is a "poor victim" should allow the Fighter to chose to consider the villager as "not an enemy" and therefore not target them.
The Fighter's opinion is irrelevant to the rule. It is the villager that decides, not the fighter.
However, if the fighter said 'Get down' in a situation where a villager was being attacked by enemy goblins, and the fighter was clearly trying to help the villager, then the villager might make the ally choice at that time.
Basically, imo, someone can be considered your "ally" if you chose to exclude them from the "enemies" catergory when your powers allow that differentiation.
This interpretation breaks Dark Warlocks in half.
Of course thsi doesn't mean they have to agree, and they may refuse to be affected by an "ally buff" power from you if they don't trust your intentions, but that doesn't stop you choosing to "not target" when you have a choice on who to target (as is implied in an Enemies Only effect).
Such is a fine house rule. It's not the rule that we have to work with as baseline, however.
Exactly Aegeri.
All tho the game rarely points it out there are really 4 catergories of creature:
1) You
2) Ally
3) Enemy
4) Non-threat/Bystander/Unknown
All are creatures - so all get hit if you target "creatures" but 3 are missed if you only target enemies.
As pointed out by abyssaldeath, the rulebook contradicts you on this matter. There is: 'You' 'Ally' 'Enemy'. No other status exists.
You enter a combat and there's a number of monsters, and a hooded prisoner that looks about to be eaten.
Can you use an ability on the prisoner that slides allies?
Does it get hit by an enemies only area?
Is the creature a willing recipient of your powers? No answer to your questions is possible until that question is answered.
Later in the initiative, the prisoner leaps up and reveals itself as:
A Rakshasa. Does that change any answer above?
Your kidnapped wife?
See above. It doesn't matter what the prisoner is, it matters if they are willing recipients to your powers. A rakhasa might be if it meant helping him escape. Your kidnapped wife probably would be because she's your wife. But that doesn't mean they automatically are just because they're a tiger-man with reversed palms and more reversed morals.