Form of the Fearsome ram attack; shift optional?

tmatk

Explorer
A question came up in our game tonight. The Warden used the attack from Form of the Fearsome Ram. Knocked the heck out Irontooth, but she didn't want to to shift since she had 3 more adjacent baddies to hold down. I ruled OK, but I wasn't sure if it was right.

The hit line reads: 2w+str, and you push the target 3 squares and knock it prone. You then shift into a space that must be adjacent to the target.

The phrase "must be adjacent" makes me wonder if it's an optional move. Is it?

Sub-question: If she did want to make that shift, is it possible to shift all the way around behind the target? Even if it was 8 or 9 squares?

Thanks!!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

My ruling would be no, due to the fact that the attack is plainly "supposed" to be a ramming speed! type attack.

As for the shifting anywhere, I would probably rule that she would have to be prone if she forced herself through the enemies square. And thats the only square she could be in, because it doesnt make sense to "ram" someone 3 squares and end up 5 feet to the left of them somehow. Maybe I just can't visualize it.

But I'm kinda hardnosed like that, I just appreciate logic a LOT in my games. Usually if someone can explain to me why it makes sense I will allow it.
 

The push is optional, since you can always choose to reduce the amount of forced movement you cause. The shift is not optional, and yes it can be any distance as long as it ends adjacent to the target. It is subject to shifting rules, so if it is not possible (example: you are in difficult terrain and are not an elf) the shifting fails. This would not prevent the attack, the push or the knockdown; you would resolve the power until you get to the line "you then shift...." and stop there since you can't shift.

The square grid and six second turn are abstractions forced by the rule system; don't take them too literally. In the course of the attack, it's quite possible the warden bowled right over the target, ending behind him, even though the square by square shift shows him walking around instead. Powers are result-oriented; reword the description of what happened until it matches the mechanical result dictated by the rules.
 

It is subject to shifting rules, so if it is not possible (example: you are in difficult terrain and are not an elf) the shifting fails.

Note that difficult terrain does not prevent shifting, it just requires two squares of shift for each square of difficult terrain. Since there is no limit to the amount of shifting with this attack, difficult terrain wouldn't impede you at all.


__________________
Come read my game design/analysis blog at: http://gamedesignfanatic.blogspot.com
 

Christopher is correct. I don't know offhand what might make shifting impossible, then, since the push would by definition leave a path of unoccupied squares to the target.
 

Sorry, guys, but the move is optional. Please see PHB2, page 219, Movement Effects sidebar.

MOVEMENT EFFECTS
Many powers allow you and your allies to move or allow you to move your enemies forcibly. If a power notes a distance that you or an ally moves (for example, "you shift 2 squares"), the character allowed to move can decide ot move all, some, or none of that distance. Similarly, if a power forcibly moves an enemy (for example, "you push the target 3 squares"), you can decide to move the enemy all, some, or none of that distance.

If a power notes the destination for your or an ally's move (for example, "a space adjacent to the target"), the charcter allowed to move decides either to move to that destination or not. You can't move partway. Similarly, if a power specifies where you force an enmy to move, you decide either to move the enemy there or not.
 
Last edited:

Both your own movement and the forced movement of powers is always optional. You may move/force to move all, part, or none of the movement.
 


Both your own movement and the forced movement of powers is always optional. You may move/force to move all, part, or none of the movement.

Yes, although in this particular case you can't choose just part of the movement, as you have a hard requirement on where your shift ends if you choose to take.
 


Remove ads

Top