Gamma World Omega Tech Question

Camelot

Adventurer
Plasma Deflector

The property says "You gain resist 10 electricity and resist 10 fire." But then the power says "Effect: You gain resist 10 electricity and resist 10 fire until the end of the encounter..." Technically, this wouldn't stack with the property and is completely redundant. Does it mean that the resistances increase by 10?

Gravity Hammer

When you salvage it, it becomes "a heavy 2-hand melee weapon: Str/Con; +2 accuracy; 2d12 + Str mod physical damage, and you knock the target prone." Does this mean that an attack with this salvaged weapon would do 2d12 + Str mod + Str or Con mod + level physical damage, and knock the target prone? Or do you not repeat the Str mod?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There's redundancy in both those entries.

The Plasma Deflector does seem to give you redundant resistance, which does nothing - the main point of the power seems to be the attack you get to make, not the redundant resistance. Perhaps the author wanted to make sure that players realized that they didn't lose the property when they used the power?

The salvaged gravity hammer looks like it was probably /meant/ to work exactly like a regular 2-handed heavy melee weapon, so STR or CON, that simply did 2d12 damage and knocked the target prone. The redundant '+STR' could be interpreted as STR /instead/ of CON, even if CON is higher, or as an extra +STR on top of the usual Basic Attack +STR/CON. I'd consider it a goof, there's no reason for it to add both STR & CON or STR twice. If litteralist player pushed the issue, I'd rule STR /instead/ of CON.
 

For the plasma deflector, when you make the attack/use the power, you tap the power, right? At that point, isn't the item considered used, so you no longer gain the benefit? Thus, the effect is necessary to maintain resistance.

I have only skimmed the Gamma World rules, so I may be way off on this.
 

For the plasma deflector, when you make the attack/use the power, you tap the power, right? At that point, isn't the item considered used, so you no longer gain the benefit? Thus, the effect is necessary to maintain resistance.

I have only skimmed the Gamma World rules, so I may be way off on this.

According to the rules:

"Each Omega Card Works Once Per Encounter: You can use each readied Omega Tech Card once per encounter. When you use a card, tap it (turn it sideways). Even after a card is tapped, you still retain any benefit you gain from the card until the end of the encounter."

So, you retain the benefit. Every Omega card has an encounter power, but not necessarily a property.
 

Remove ads

Top