Luthien Greyspear
First Post
I'm running a long-term campaign that will have the characters going up against a pretty major baddie, and I've decided to ramp the characters up a bit before they get there. For plot reasons (having to do with a curse of collective amnesia), every level the party gains from this point forward will be a gestalt level.
This is actually pretty important for the characters, as the "second" class level they gain at every level is actually a bit of the memory of their past life coming back. The party used to be a 2nd edition group of 12th to 14th level characters who had gone into semi-retirement after finishing Q1: Queen of the Demonweb Pits. I advanced the game about 20 years, allowing for several levels of normal advancement during that time, and then told the party that the next segment of the game would involve the party suffering through a magically-induced amnesia. Basically, 3rd edition had just come out, and I wasn't gonna convert characters of that high a level and make my players learn a whole new system at the same time.
The problem I'm having is this: if a character takes a level in a spellcasting class (wizard) and a level in a PrC that grants advancement as a spellcaster (ex: Eldritch Knight), can they get the same benefit for both classes at the same time. I'm inclined to say no, but I'd like to know if any official word has been published on this matter before my players start trying to rules-lawyer me. I've found having something in print shuts them up pretty quick so we can just get on with the game.
This is actually pretty important for the characters, as the "second" class level they gain at every level is actually a bit of the memory of their past life coming back. The party used to be a 2nd edition group of 12th to 14th level characters who had gone into semi-retirement after finishing Q1: Queen of the Demonweb Pits. I advanced the game about 20 years, allowing for several levels of normal advancement during that time, and then told the party that the next segment of the game would involve the party suffering through a magically-induced amnesia. Basically, 3rd edition had just come out, and I wasn't gonna convert characters of that high a level and make my players learn a whole new system at the same time.
The problem I'm having is this: if a character takes a level in a spellcasting class (wizard) and a level in a PrC that grants advancement as a spellcaster (ex: Eldritch Knight), can they get the same benefit for both classes at the same time. I'm inclined to say no, but I'd like to know if any official word has been published on this matter before my players start trying to rules-lawyer me. I've found having something in print shuts them up pretty quick so we can just get on with the game.