Giant Crocodile - Strong CR4?

IcyCool said:
I was under the impression that the current errata makes Druids keep their type when wildshaped, and so are unable to benefit from Animal Growth.
It should not have worked anyways...Wild shape is magical, if the druid takes a large form, his size has increased and all the spells that make something bigger call out Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Darklone said:
Don't forget that many druids will already be Huge at level 9 during combats... Animal Growth rocks.
FWIW, I agree with IcyCool and FranktheDM:

Animal Growth doesn't work on a druid that's already wildshaped into a larger form.
 

frankthedm said:
It should not have worked anyways...Wild shape is magical, if the druid takes a large form, his size has increased and all the spells that make something bigger call out Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack.

That's pretty hotly debated. At any rate, it's certainly doesn't seem to be allowed now. Now using Enlarge Person on the other hand ... ;)
 



fireball on a longboat and only the croc took the hit? generous dm, if that had been a fighter in the crocs mouth in my current campaign, my dm would have reveled at the chance to let the pc's "quite accidentally" torch each other....... at 7 a res aint that hard to get
 

bestone said:
fireball on a longboat and only the croc took the hit? generous dm, if that had been a fighter in the crocs mouth in my current campaign, my dm would have reveled at the chance to let the pc's "quite accidentally" torch each other....... at 7 a res aint that hard to get

The Croc attacked one end of the longboat. The Sorcerer cast the Fireball so only the edge of it hit the Croc. It wasn't centred on him. How does your DM determine the placement of AoE spells?

Olaf the Stout
 

I'm currently discussing a related question with a player of mine. Here's the relevant bit:

"If a Medium creature is grappled by a Large creature, does an AoE spell that only affects one of the Large creature's 4 squares automatically affect the Medium creture as well?"
 

Nail said:
I'm currently discussing a related question with a player of mine. Here's the relevant bit:

"If a Medium creature is grappled by a Large creature, does an AoE spell that only affects one of the Large creature's 4 squares automatically affect the Medium creture as well?"

I had the exact same question. From now on I'm going to use that there is a random chance that the Medium creature is affected. In your example, there is a 1/4 chance that the Medium creature would be affected. I'd roll a d4 and on a 1 the Medium creature would be affected.

The same goes for a Medium creature grappling a Huge creature (as was the case in my game). If only one square of the Huge creature is affected by the AoE spell then there is a 1/9 chance that the Medium creature is affected by it. Roll a d10. On a 1 it is affected. On a 10 re-roll.

I think that is the best solution to it. When this issue came up in my game last session I just ruled that the Medium PC wasn't affected just to save any arguements but I will be using the rule I described above from now on.

Olaf the Stout
 

frankthedm said:
It should not have worked anyways...Wild shape is magical, if the druid takes a large form, his size has increased and all the spells that make something bigger call out Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack.
A wildshaped druid becomes a normal-sized whatever. His size has not increased (or decreased). Thus, sans errata, it's perfectly legal to use animal growth.
 

Remove ads

Top