You are right, Improved grabbers can use that rule* to take their food {victim] to go. It allows the hunter to avoid the reprisal of the victim's pack {party] as it is supposed to do.Jeff Wilder said:What does this text mean?
This arguably seems like another special ability allowed by Improved Grab (as opposed to something any grappler can do with a successful grapple check).
That's pretty nasty. Since no grapple check is needed to move the victim, the croc can drag him under the water and death-roll him in the same round.
Seeten said:This lengthy discussion, and its ramifications is why my Paladin has "Close Quarters Fighting."
When stuff thinks its gonna improved grab me, I beat the living hell out of it. =)
Great goggly-moggly!frankthedm said:IWell this thread got me wanting to make some advanced Crocs. I guess I'll start of with a slightly larger specimine. Just large enough to have that BAB based iterative attacks at the issue here.
Old Fat Fangs
Infiniti2000 said:Not just no additional natural weapons attacks, no attacks period. The only exception is the combination with manufactured weapons.
In round 2, the glabrezu cannot choose to (say) pincer the PC with his other claw (-4 penalty for grappling, -2 for secondary) and also conduct 3 grapple attempts.
I believe this would fall under Infiniti's rule #3, so Infiniti is saying this sequence is allowed.Patryn said:Ah, wait. What you've just posted says that I cannot:
Bite (as a secondary natural weapon), Sword (+6 BAB), and Sword (+1 BAB)?
frankthedm said:And folks wonder why the 3E concept art went nuts with the armor spikes?
SlagMortar said:I believe this would fall under Infiniti's rule #3, so Infiniti is saying this sequence is allowed.
SRD said:Natural Weapons: ... Creatures do not receive additional attacks from a high base attack bonus when using natural weapons. ...
Manufactured Weapons: ... Some creatures combine attacks with natural and manufactured weapons when they make a full attack. When they do so, the manufactured weapon attack is considered the primary attack unless the creature’s description indicates otherwise and any natural weapons the creature also uses are considered secondary natural attacks. These secondary attacks do not interfere with the primary attack as attacking with an off-hand weapon does, but they take the usual –5 penalty (or –2 with the Multiattack feat) for such attacks, even if the natural weapon used is normally the creature’s primary natural weapon.
cwhs01 said:Is this turning into an argument about the realism in being attacked by 20 foot, multiple thousand pound crocodiles? Well, it's not terribly realistic, but i guess i've seen worse offences in rpg's![]()