catsclaw227
First Post
Christian said:Geez, I was just making a joke. Some things are too obvious to require errata, aren't they?
I agree, but you never know!

Christian said:Geez, I was just making a joke. Some things are too obvious to require errata, aren't they?
Some people cling to literal wordings for every advantage they can.Christian said:Geez, I was just making a joke. Some things are too obvious to require errata, aren't they?
catsclaw227 said:OK.. off topic here a moment... I read this one other time and prayed to the RPG gods that this got errata'd. Does anyone know about this? You can't sunder a huge shield sitting in front of you because you can't make the attack against the wielder? This is like some twisted Escher rule.
That would be the common-sense interpretation, right. But not exactly what the RAW says...WizarDru said:The target of the Sunder doesn't have total cover...the target of the sunder is providing total cover to someone else. In fact, the defender takes a -2 on the Sunder check because he's using a tower shield, effectively making it EASIER to initiate a sunder.
Screw the RAW. I'd much rather use common sense!D&D FAQ said:Grapple and Snatch Attacks: Total cover from a tower shield blocks such attacks (the foe just can’t get hold of you). The foe could, however grab the shield.
Endur said:Personally, as a GM, when I get the chance to pick between a Huge Giant and a Large Giant, I always pick the Huge Giant. Half-Ogres, Ogres, and powerful build medium creatures are all sort of large ... but huge is different. When you place a Huge mini on the table, all of the player's eyes bug out.
Efreeti are the only ones who have that "Enlarge Monster" trick in all of the core rules.My Efreeti like using their enlarge self spell to make themselves look bigger too.
Conaill said:It's pretty clear that "the target" of the Sunder is the person holding the item. And that person has full cover, so cannot be targeted by a Sunder. Just like you can't sunder the sword of someone who is hiding behind a wall. D&D doesn't really have any special rule sto say what happens when you have full cover but your equipment doesn't - even if it's the equipment that actually provides the cover.