Good 8, Evil 9 - Evil wins the Exhibition!

Paul goes for the full attack and then steps east to 70n75e.

Drac will wait until the full attack is over and move to 90n55e and bite Armstrong, pulling him through the blades once again (don't forget cover and flanking and decide if Paul gets another AoO if/when Armstrong moves involuntarily out of his reach, remember his AoO may reset though delaying complicates that decision, too).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

138:
* Paul hits with the initial bite (31) and then misses with the claws. The bite barely catches Armstrong before sliding off (can you believe this bad luck 4d4+5 = 9. Gah!)
* Drac's bite resoundingly hits (39) for (25-10 = 15hps). Armstrong wriggles again to avoid the worst of the blades (40/2 = 20).
Armstrong has 4 hp left.

On the AoO: Hmm. The grapple rules do say that normally moving due to a grapple provokes, so I'd go with that. The AoO rules say "per round" for the reset, and Paul did just get an AoO earlier in 138. However, should it reset like feats when you take your move? Not seeing any reference to such a reset in the SRD or Rules of the Game article, I think we'll have to go with them being available when we move to round 139.

Speaking of which, this leaves Armstrong right there at the start of 139 with 4 hp. I think we all can take a guess what he'll do...
 

Paul should get an AoO. Availability of AoOs resets after you take your turn, provided you are acting at the same initiative count from round to round. The "per round" is the individual creature's round. If you use the global round, then you have the situation of a creature possibly getting two AoOs between two of its turns.
 

Paul's AoO is... a miss! (20) Even with Armstrong not getting his Dex, it isn't enough due to the archon's celestially-hardened skin.
 



139: Armstrong teleports and flies, all the while being in Paul's line of sight...

Drac slashes through the blade barrier (nat 20 sv), taking 37/2 = 18 pts. His long, outstretched neck reaches out and hits dead on to Armstrong (44), doing (22 - 10) = 12 hp. Armstrong is reduced to -8 hp and is defeated.

Edit: Drac now has 112 hp, by the way. Paul has 12 hp.


OOC: At first I thought Drac didn't have the reach, but it's precisely 15 on the 3D diagonal.
 

Armstrong is not defeated until the end of his turn because he was not killed. That means that Paul may take a turn before the next good creature enters the arena.
 


OOC1: Drac has the movement to fly up and over the blade barrier.

OOC2: Armstrong would then plummet 40ft to the stone, thus negating any other action by Paul.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top