Good sorcerers can't cast [Evil] spells!

Tiberius said:
Why would this ruling be necessary? Any alignment is within one step of a neutral one:

LG LN LE
NG N NE
CG CN CE

That was, in fact, the joke. Entirely. ;)

Oh, and according to page 8 of the Book of Vile Darkness, casting an evil spell IS an evil act.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

pallandrome said:
Oh, and according to page 8 of the Book of Vile Darkness, casting an evil spell IS an evil act.
While a ruling I wholeheartedly agree with, it will be unfortunately dismissed by those not liking it because its source is a 3.0 supplimental rulebook..
 

TheGogmagog said:
I disagree that he CAN cast Wizard(Evil). Note the original quote again. (I didn't look it back up, but assumed this is the PH text.) So a Neutral diety that has no problem granting (Evil) spells, Yet a Good Cleric of which CAN'T (not shouldn't) cast (Evil) spells.

Now, do you rule that a multiclassed Cleric/Wizard can drop a prepared Magic Missile spell to spontaneously cast Cure Light Wounds?

a/ A cleric can’t cast spells of an alignment opposed to his own or his deity’s (if he has one).

b/ A good cleric (or a neutral cleric of a good deity) can channel stored spell energy into healing spells that the cleric did not prepare ahead of time. The cleric can “lose” any prepared spell that is not a domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower (a cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name).

If "spells of an alignment opposed" in a/ refers to both Cleric and Wizard spells, then doesn't "any prepared spell that is not a domain spell" in b/, by the same logic, refer to both?

How do you handle the discrepancy between "A cleric must choose and prepare his spells in advance" and "A bard can cast any spell he knows without preparing it ahead of time", in the case of a multiclassed Cleric/Bard? Must the character choose and prepare his bard spells in advance, since he is a cleric? Can he cast any cleric spell he knows without preparing it, since he is a bard?

-Hyp.
 

Felix said:
While a ruling I wholeheartedly agree with, it will be unfortunately dismissed by those not liking it because its source is a 3.0 supplimental rulebook..

Yeah, see it's one of those things that they cleared up, but never bothered to move into the new edition. Sometimes, I swear it's like herding cats. Or children. Meybe cats riding children, I don't know.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Can he cast any cleric spell he knows without preparing it, since he is a bard?

A multi-class cleric/bard does not have cleric spells on his "Spell Known" list does he? They aren't considered "known spells" right?

Otherwise good questions.
 


takasi said:
A multi-class cleric/bard does not have cleric spells on his "Spell Known" list does he? They aren't considered "known spells" right?

Depends.

"A wizard can use a borrowed spellbook to prepare a spell she already knows and has recorded in her own spellbook..."

"A spell you know" isn't necessarily limited to non-preparation casters.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Depends.

"A wizard can use a borrowed spellbook to prepare a spell she already knows and has recorded in her own spellbook..."

"A spell you know" isn't necessarily limited to non-preparation casters.

-Hyp.

True, wizards can "know" spells. What about clerics? Is there any reference that a cleric "knows" spells?
 

takasi said:
True, wizards can "know" spells. What about clerics? Is there any reference that a cleric "knows" spells?

Swap the sample character for a Wizard/Bard, and sidestep the issue.

"A wizard must choose and prepare her spells ahead of time"; "A bard can cast any spell he knows without preparing it ahead of time".

If the character is a Wizard/Bard, can he cast wizard spells he knows without preparing them? Must he choose and prepare his bard spells?

-Hyp.
 

I would say that for purposes of a good Ranger or cleric that they cannot cast spells of the opposite alignment. Now if they had another class such as sorcerer, they could cast spells for this class of the opposite alignment. However, there may be reprocussions from their god for having done so. This may be an adventure to atone for having done so. The god will not let the PC learn and cast the divine spells as opposite alignment, but the god cannot stop the character from learning and casting. The god can only penalize after the fact, not before the fact.
 

Remove ads

Top