Grappling

Evil DM

First Post
Hej folks,
I just wonder if anywhere in the PG is written that you need two hands for grappling?
I want to create a huge monster with a huge one-handed sword and the other hand free. To grapple a PC while shalshing at the others.
I suggested to give the monster a -5 penalty to grapple because of just one hand. In addition to the normal penalties for two weapon fighting.
What do you think or is there any clear rule?
Cheers, your Evil DM.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

To do as you wish I would suggest that you give the monster Improved Grab with a Claw or Unarmed Strike.

"Improved Grab (Ex): If a creature with this special attack hits with a melee weapon (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity. No initial touch attack is required. Unless otherwise noted, improved grab works only against opponents at least one size category smaller than the creature. The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the improved grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a -20 penalty on grapple checks, but is not considered grappled itself; the creature does not lose its Dexterity bonus to AC, still threatens an area, and can use its remaining attacks against other opponents. A successful hold does not deal any extra damage unless the creature also has the constrict special attack. If the creature does not constrict, each successful grapple check it makes during successive rounds automatically deals the damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. Otherwise, it deals constriction damage as well (the amount is given in the creature’s descriptive text). When a creature gets a hold after an improved grab attack, it pulls the opponent into its space. This act does not provoke attacks of opportunity. It can even move (possibly carrying away the opponent), provided it can drag the opponent’s weight. "
 

What he said. When you're grappling, you're assumed to be using all your limbs. If you only use one, it's a -20 to the check, but you don't lose your Dex to AC, still threaten, can still attack, etc.

-The Souljourner
 

Remove ads

Top