Danceofmasks
First Post
Well, there is the improved grab feat in PHB2 ... +4/+6/+8 feat bonus.
Which is the hack?
If both are, then it's dubious for them to stack.
Which is the hack?
If both are, then it's dubious for them to stack.
Well, there is the improved grab feat in PHB2 ... +4/+6/+8 feat bonus.
Which is the hack?
If both are, then it's dubious for them to stack.
The property of a Grasping Weapon allows you to use it with enhancement bonus. "You can use this weapon to grab targets, adding the weapon's enhancement bonus to your grab attack. You can still use this weapon to attack a target you've grabbed with it."
They did however neglect in that to deal with the fact that you can only grab things that are adjacent to you, so by RAW it cannot be used with a grab attack beyond 1 square, even if the weapon has reach.
I think that's the intended effect.
As it stands, if you're wielding a Reach weapon you can either use it at-will to grab an adjacent opponent, or attack a non-adjacent opponent with it, and then activate its encounter power to drag them adjacent to you and grab them. The whole point of that Encounter power is that, once per encounter, it effectively allows you to grab an opponent who is within your weapon's reach but not adjacent to you.
I don't believe it was ever the intention that you should be able to do so with every attack made with the weapon.
Why would it drag the target?
Additionally, any kind of forced movement (except for the "pull grabbed creature action) breaks the grab... so at best, you would throw the spear, grab him, then try to drag him which would break the grab and mean that he would no longer be dragged...
Chains of Fire, Sorcerer Encounter Attack 13 is a ranged 10 power that can hit two targets and slide one to be adjacent to the other. Even without something that increases your powers' range, that's potentially an 18-square slide.That is just utterly vicious and FAR beyond anything the rules allow by intent.
Why would it drag the target?
Additionally, any kind of forced movement (except for the "pull grabbed creature action) breaks the grab... so at best, you would throw the spear, grab him, then try to drag him which would break the grab and mean that he would no longer be dragged...