Harpoon: delusions of grandeur or DM nightmare

Nail said:
Try explaining it to the Player in another way:

"Congratulations! You've found a broken rule. Good job! They're so rare for us nowadays. :D

......Now it's time for us to fix this rule. Here's the fix: the damage of a harpoon is reduced to 1d6 (like a javelin), and you can't use the 'lodging' property while in melee."

wow. then its just like all the other cruddy exotic weapons that never see any use... Congratulations, you have found a useless rule. :D (this is meant to be a light hearted comment)

Really just say its ranged only. Making it a 1d6 is going a bit far in my humble opinion.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Lady Sabelle said:
The harpooned creature can pull the harpoon from its wound if it has two free hands and takes a full-round action to do so, but it deals damage to itself equal to the initial damage the harpoon dealt. A character who succeeds on a DC 15 Heal check can remove a harpoon without further damage.
The problem appears to be letting the player use the harpoon in a way that is not allowed. The person attacking with the harpoon is not allowed to PULL it out. This can only be done by the one harpooned. The person with the rope simply controls 'how the harpooned creature can move within the limits that the rope allows'. He does not get to do automatic damage next round. So when played within the rules the harpooned not only is NOT broken, but is a bad choice for damage. As once you harpooned a creature that weapon can't be used to do more damage until either A) the harpooned creature dies or B) The harpooned creature pulls it out.

So this means a simple greataxe used every round becomes more dangerous than the harpoon.
 

ShadowChemosh said:
The problem appears to be letting the player use the harpoon in a way that is not allowed. The person attacking with the harpoon is not allowed to PULL it out. This can only be done by the one harpooned. The person with the rope simply controls 'how the harpooned creature can move within the limits that the rope allows'. He does not get to do automatic damage next round.


Ding ding ding - here is where the problem appears to have occured.

The person who wielded the harpoon can't pull it out according to the rules as written. Well not for damage anyway. Essentially it is a one-time use weapon, until the creature is dead anyway.
 

ShadowChemosh said:
The problem appears to be letting the player use the harpoon in a way that is not allowed. The person attacking with the harpoon is not allowed to PULL it out. This can only be done by the one harpooned. The person with the rope simply controls 'how the harpooned creature can move within the limits that the rope allows'. He does not get to do automatic damage next round. So when played within the rules the harpooned not only is NOT broken, but is a bad choice for damage. As once you harpooned a creature that weapon can't be used to do more damage until either A) the harpooned creature dies or B) The harpooned creature pulls it out.

So this means a simple greataxe used every round becomes more dangerous than the harpoon.
I too agree. This would be the best solution to the problem. What the entry says is that the harpooned creature can pull it out. It does not say that the harpooner can pull it out. The harpooner can however control the victims movement.
 

What if the harpooner is right next to the harpoon stuck in a creature. I see no reason why he shouldnt be able to grab it and pull it out, maybe with an AoO.

Also if a harpoon is lodged in a creature does that count as an object being carried by the creature? If so does that mean he is sundering himself? :O Not that its a big deal but it's just funny that he has to sunder himself.
 


Ogrork the Mighty said:
Keep in mind that lots of stuff in Frostburn is at worst broken, and at best poorly designed. ;)

That isn't all that relevant. Frostburn is the 3rd or 4th book to showcase the Harpoon.

Sword and Fist: not sure, would have to double check this.
Arms and Equipment: if not S&F, this is the original source for the weapon.
Races of Faerun: has a smaller version for the frost-dwarves
 

For a harpoon-like weapon that can be used in melee check out Greyhawk's Darkha and the accompanying Darkhagard prestige class which gets some special abilites when fighting with it. Darkhas provide no extra damage when retracted though.

LG excerpt (The full article was in Living Greyhawk Journal #2)

I adapted the Spinning Halberd Style feat to Spinning Darkha Style for my remake of the iconic Darkhagard NPC in the LGJ article, plus he had a rope of entangling attached to the Darkha...
 

We used a harpoon to hunt dragons in Red Hand of Doom. Had a special harpoon with a chain instead of a rope trailing from it, tied off to a heavy wagon. Great plan and everything. Critted the bastard dragon with a power throw'ed power attack'ed true-striked harpoon, and the ***hole had the audacity to just land and melee us instead of trying to fly away.

The one time we prepared for taking a dragon out of the sky -- downdraft, wingbind, and a magical harpoon -- and the stupid dragon just decides to go all claw/claw/bite/tail/wing/wing on us.
 

Meeki said:
What if the harpooner is right next to the harpoon stuck in a creature. I see no reason why he shouldnt be able to grab it and pull it out, maybe with an AoO.
if you allow that, why couldnt you pull it out from 30ft away by pulling on the rope? you'd pull with the same force either way (unless you brace against the opponents body i guess).
 

Remove ads

Top