Greetings
After our last session our guest DM has a question about the heart seeker amulet from the Magic Item Compendium.
The group:
A NG paladin lvl 14
A NG priest lvl 14
A shadowcaster lvl 14
A sorcerer lvl 16
A ranger lvl 14
An aquatic ranger (homebrew race) lvl 14 (since I'm the usual DM, one of my own characters)
That session the paladin was not present and the priest being the guest DM's usual character func-tioned as our healer only, taking no other part in the adventure.
The situation:
We had met and with some difficulty defeated a pack of undead minions and were finally confronting the BBEGs, a vampire in a heavy armor from AE and a lich.
After having our tails creamed we bravely decided to come back another time and our sorcerer tele-ported the group out.
As it turned out without one of the rangers who has vampires as favored enemy and therefore elected to stay behind.
She activated her heart seeking amulet, improved her attack roll with 20 hero points (a home brew rule) and thus bypassed the metal armor and hit the vampire in the heart with a wooden stake, killing the vampire who as per RAW will stay dead as long as the stake is in the heart.
So far no problemos, but… what happens when she lets go the stake, will it stay in the heart with the armor surrounding the stake or will it be pushed out as per the pass wall effect (no 2 items in the same place at the same time) or ??
Our guest DM needs some input since he is unsure how to rule this while I, the usual DM, would rule the stake was stuck in the armor and hence also in the heart and to get the stake out of the heart someone would have to take off the armor first.
But maybe someone here has a solution that all can accept
Thanks
Tamara
After our last session our guest DM has a question about the heart seeker amulet from the Magic Item Compendium.
The group:
A NG paladin lvl 14
A NG priest lvl 14
A shadowcaster lvl 14
A sorcerer lvl 16
A ranger lvl 14
An aquatic ranger (homebrew race) lvl 14 (since I'm the usual DM, one of my own characters)
That session the paladin was not present and the priest being the guest DM's usual character func-tioned as our healer only, taking no other part in the adventure.
The situation:
We had met and with some difficulty defeated a pack of undead minions and were finally confronting the BBEGs, a vampire in a heavy armor from AE and a lich.
After having our tails creamed we bravely decided to come back another time and our sorcerer tele-ported the group out.
As it turned out without one of the rangers who has vampires as favored enemy and therefore elected to stay behind.
She activated her heart seeking amulet, improved her attack roll with 20 hero points (a home brew rule) and thus bypassed the metal armor and hit the vampire in the heart with a wooden stake, killing the vampire who as per RAW will stay dead as long as the stake is in the heart.
So far no problemos, but… what happens when she lets go the stake, will it stay in the heart with the armor surrounding the stake or will it be pushed out as per the pass wall effect (no 2 items in the same place at the same time) or ??
Our guest DM needs some input since he is unsure how to rule this while I, the usual DM, would rule the stake was stuck in the armor and hence also in the heart and to get the stake out of the heart someone would have to take off the armor first.
But maybe someone here has a solution that all can accept
Thanks
Tamara


