Help with two questions please

Hawken

First Post
#1: On a ready action, does your initiative count change to the initiative of the trigger of the ready action or the one ahead of it? So, if the trigger occurs on initiative 22, does the ready action put that person's initiative at 22 (but before the trigger)? or at 23?

#2: The Fiendish Legacy feat from Complete Mage grants Summon Monster V as an innate spell with the restriction that it only brings fiendish creatures. Is the Hell Hound (evil outsider, native to Baator) count as a fiendish creature for the purpose of this feat, or would it only bring animals/monsters with the fiendish template?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hawken said:
#1: On a ready action, does your initiative count change to the initiative of the trigger of the ready action or the one ahead of it? So, if the trigger occurs on initiative 22, does the ready action put that person's initiative at 22 (but before the trigger)? or at 23?
It changes to the count on which you took the readied action. So 22.
 

Hawken said:
#1: On a ready action, does your initiative count change to the initiative of the trigger of the ready action or the one ahead of it? So, if the trigger occurs on initiative 22, does the ready action put that person's initiative at 22 (but before the trigger)? or at 23?

Fifth Element is correct; also, it's rare that it will actually make a difference. About the only time the number matters once combat has started is if someone joins the combat later: if someone shows up and rolls a 23 for their initiative, they'll go before you.

It gets interesting if they roll a 22.

Let's say you have an initiative modifer of +1; the opponent who triggered your Readied action has an initiative modifier of +3; and the new arrival has an initiative modifier of +2 (he rolled a 20). You go on count 22, and because of the way readied actions work, you go before your opponent, who also goes on count 22.

The newcomer goes on count 22 as well, and the tie is resolved by comparing initiative modifiers. So he goes before you (he has the higher initiative modifier), but after your opponent (he has the lower initiative modifier). You go after him (you have the lower initiative modifier), but before your opponent (since he triggered your Ready action). And your opponent goes after you (since he triggered your Ready action), but before the newcomer (who has the lower initiative modifier).

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
The newcomer goes on count 22 as well, and the tie is resolved by comparing initiative modifiers. So he goes before you (he has the higher initiative modifier), but after your opponent (he has the lower initiative modifier). You go after him (you have the lower initiative modifier), but before your opponent (since he triggered your Ready action). And your opponent goes after you (since he triggered your Ready action), but before the newcomer (who has the lower initiative modifier).
That's awesome. I love these rules.

So from your perspective, the order should be New-You-Opp.
From the opponent's view, it should be You-Opp-New.
From the newcomer's perspective, it should be Opp-New-You.

How would you break that tie? I'd say the newcomer's perspective is out, since I don't think his arrival should affect your readied action. Since you should therefore go before the opponent, you could then compare initiative modifiers between you and the newcomer. In this case, the newcomer would win. So I guess I'd suggest New-You-Opp?
 

Can't be a tie.

And actually the readied action occurs right before the action that triggered it.

Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.
 

irdeggman said:
Can't be a tie.

And actually the readied action occurs right before the action that triggered it.

Right. On the same count.

His action occurs on count 22; your new initiative result for the rest of the encounter is the count on which you took it (22), immediately before him.

-Hyp.
 



Hawken said:
#2: The Fiendish Legacy feat from Complete Mage grants Summon Monster V as an innate spell with the restriction that it only brings fiendish creatures. Is the Hell Hound (evil outsider, native to Baator) count as a fiendish creature for the purpose of this feat, or would it only bring animals/monsters with the fiendish template?
I don't think anybody has answered this question yet, so..
I think "fiendish creatures" here refers to the fiendish creature template. So no hell hound.
 


Remove ads

Top