D&D General Hey i need help for my new campaign and google isnt very helpfull. Plz help?

The Boogeyman

Hey so tomorow il be starting a new campaign as a player and im playing a tri-kreen. the information on the character sheet says i can hold two extra light weapons with my secondary arms but does that mean i can attack 4 times? google keeps talking about the monster tri kreen, not the playable race. and does it stack with extra attack? im playing paladin btw.

log in or register to remove this ad



Secondary Arms​

You have two slightly smaller secondary arms below your primary pair of arms. The secondary arms can manipulate an object, open or close a door or container, pick up or set down a Tiny object, or wield a weapon that has the light property.

Two-Weapon Fighting

When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus attack, unless that modifier is negative.If either weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon, instead of making a melee attack with it.


Unfortunately, the rules from Spelljammer don't make this clear (and I'm not surprised in that regard). Cross-referencing the two-weapon rules and the picture (noting that art is NOT rules), it does look you use your bonus action and make two extra attacks. Strangely, it fails to mention anything about getting multiple attacks or holding a two-handed weapon with your "primary hands". I'd definitely double-check with your DM how he wants to handle this - especially when you get to the level where Extra attack comes on line in regards to your "primary" hands. Get this rules questioned ironed out between the two of you before it becomes an unexpected surprise for either of you :) .


Not your screen monkey (he/him) 🇺🇦🇵🇸🏳️‍⚧️
I don't think you get more attacks. If the PC-oriented material doesn't say anything about gaining an additional attack, you should not assume you get one, no matter how many arms your character has. A power like that would be a big effin' deal and wouldn't be left to people making inferences from the rules.
However, by being able to wield additional weapons, you have choices from attack to attack which weapon you want to use. And, if there were some feature a weapon had that would apply when wielded, I would consider it in play even if not actively attacking with it on a particular round.


That's the REALLY weird thing. I started looking through Beyond comments and for Sage Advice (none of the latter that I could find). The community is divided how the secondary hands works. But what nobody is questioning (and I think they should) is how the Primary hands work having four arms.

Again, I'd take this up with your DM - they are going to have to arbitrate this one.

The Boogeyman

yeah it doesnt say anything about extra attacks but then why would i specificly say that i can hold two extra LIGHT weapons in my secondary arms? if they are saying that just to imply that you can CARRY two extra weapons, then why imply that they HAVE to be light? it makes more sense that they would say they have to be light to nerf the extra attacks a little.

Voidrunner's Codex

Remove ads