Tony Vargas
Legend
I can't recall if 4e has hard and fast rules on how multiple attacks are resolved - whether you roll attack, damage, attack, damage, or attack, attack, damage, damage (as many prefer, rolling a handful of d20s).Aaron said:If you can make multiple attacks in a round, you decide
which attack to apply the extra damage to after all the
attacks are rolled.
At minimum you should be able to aply it to whichever attack hit. I think it's debateable whether you'd be able to aply it to the attack that did more damage (to help you punch through damage resitance, for instance). It would depend on the formal order for resolving attack & damage with multiple attacks - and I don't recall there being one.
Imediate actions trigggered by one attack would make it even more complicated. If an immediate reaction occurs after your first attack is resolved, for instance, but you have the option of adding more damage to that attack, then is it really resolved until you've done so or declined to do so, or can a reaction negate the HQ portion of an attack between resolving the attacka and adding the damage? Either could be exploited in hinky ways in your favor or against you, I'm sure.
It's interesting that it's phrased differently than SA, which is assigned after damage determination.
Last edited: