Hold Person and Polymorph

From the polymorph in the SRD "The subject’s creature type and subtype (if any) change to match the new form."

From the hold person in the SRD "Target: One humanoid creature."

Here's an alternate ruling. Once the target is no longer a humanoid creature, I think it's fair game for the DM to say that the hold person spell no longer works. But, this doesn't mean the spell's duration is over, because the effect was originally in place on a proper target. So, if the troll is then changed into a humanoid, and the duration of hold person hasn't expired, it seems reasonable that the now-again-humanoid would have to save or be held.

Dave
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
Certainly. And if he can find anything in Shillelagh that says "one nonmagical staff (nonmagical, that is, except for the ongoing effects of the Shillelagh spell)" that would make sense.
So in your opinion, that is an absolutely necessary clause if spells (in general) stop working when the target becomes invalid?

Or, in more general terms: "The rules must always explicitly state that something is an exception, no matter how self evident it is from the context" ?
 

Iku Rex said:
self evident

Which is so blatantly self evident that it would seem silly to not rule it as no longer functioning? and how would it not fall under the same category as, 'target: one nonmagical staff' when it then becomes magical, no longer a valid target.
 


What spells fall under your 'self evident' category for being no longer valid and why/how are they different than the shillelagh spell?
 

Scion said:
What spells fall under your 'self evident' category for being no longer valid and why/how are they different than the shillelagh spell?
I really have no idea what you're talking about.

(And, I suspect, vice versa...)
 
Last edited:

Iku Rex said:
So in your opinion, that is an absolutely necessary clause if spells (in general) stop working when the target becomes invalid?

Or, in more general terms: "The rules must always explicitly state that something is an exception, no matter how self evident it is from the context" ?

Apparently you have forgotten what you put just a few posts up. Here it is again, feel free to explain.
 

Scion said:
Apparently you have forgotten what you put just a few posts up. Here it is again, feel free to explain.
I remember what I wrote.

Feel free to explain how your replies have anything to do with it.
 

Unless you meant something completely different than what you wrote then my questions act directly on your post.

So, you must actually mean something different than what you wrote.

Unfortunate though as I was looking for clarification since what you said doesnt really make any sense. Hence why I was asking about it.

Ahh well I suppose.
 

Hey! :cool:

Let's sum up.

The problem is:does a spell need a valid target only when it's cast, or do the spell need a valid target along its duration?

Does a Wiz with Greater Invisibility return visible if he dies?

Does Shilleagh stops its duration, cause its target is no longer non-magical?

Can we free a Hold-Human Polimorphing him into a Giant?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top