Three instances, mind, that say nothing on the subject of performing mental actions while Held.Originally posted by Belbarrus:
Three instances that say that a Held person *cannot* move. Actual quotes from the rulebooks themselves.
:sigh:Originally posted by Belbarrus:
Please give me ONE quote from the rulebook that confirms that moving with the fly spell is a mental action, as opposed to your * interpretation* or opinion of the rules. If you can quote the rule that moving with the fly spell is indeed a mental action, then the debate is over.
Asking for a “rule” is kind of silly, since the only source of information on the subject is the spell itself.
Thus, what you should be asking for is an example from the spell description that says flying is a purely mental action.
Since I am at work, IDHTPHBIFOM, but I believe the following is more or less a correct quote.
From the PHB, page 206(7?):
“Using the fly spell requires as much concentration as walking. So the subject of the spell can still attack or cast spells normally.”
And there you have it. Concentration is all that is needed. If this isn’t a purely mental activity, I don’t know what is.
The only remaining argument is that Hold Person is a Compulsion, therefore it (somehow) keeps you from concentrating.
However, none of the three quotes Belbarrus provided (from the rulebooks, no less

Debate over.

Last edited: