How do Immediate Actions work?

DM2

First Post
For example, if my 10th level Psion has Energy Adaptation, Specified, and is fireballed by an enemy wizard, can he spend the extra points to manifest the power as an immediate action to protect himself from the fire damage?

i.e. Immediate Actions can be cast on other player's turns, but can I cast them in response to any action they start? I mean, the wizard casts fireball....can I get the immediate action off before the fire damage is resolved?

Thanks,

DM2
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The intent seems to be just as you say, that certain powers and abilities are immediate actions in order that they can be used to respond to another's actions. However, there's no indication of that in the description of the immediate action, so by the RAW, you can't unless it says specifically in the description of the power. The Elan ability Resiliance says that you can use the ability to "reduce the damage [you are] about to take" after you know that you are taking damage.

Now, this might mean that you have to use it after the DM says, "you're hit" and before he says, "for 6 points of damage". And if that's the case, then the intent is probably "forewarned is forearmed." If you have Energy Adaptation, and you're fighting a red dragon, you wait until the DM says, "the dragon breathes fire at you," and activate your power before he says "for 50 points of fire damage." You knew that fire was coming, and were waiting to defend against it. If, however, a wizard casts a fireball, you may have to succeed at a spellcraft check before you would be able to defend because you don't know what's going to hit you.

Again, the rules are pretty vague and don't explain any of this. They say that an immediate action is a quick action you can use when it's not your turn. Period. So by RAW, you can't respond to anything unless you already know what's going to happen and can use your immediate action first.
 

The Cloak of Elemental Protection from the MiniHB works almost exactly the same a Specified Energy Adaption and it explictly states it can be activated in response to an energy attack so this seems to be the way the power is intended to work. I would say that you can use it against an incoming fireball.

Do note that immediate actions cannot be performed when you are flatfooted however.
 

DM2 said:
For example, if my 10th level Psion has Energy Adaptation, Specified, and is fireballed by an enemy wizard, can he spend the extra points to manifest the power as an immediate action to protect himself from the fire damage?
Yes, that's the point of immediate actions. Why would you be initiating a power when it's not your turn unless it's in response to something? Every single immediate action power protects your from some form of impending harm: energy damage, falling, mental attacks, failed saving throws, etc. They wouldn't be of much use if you couldn't actually manifest them in response to such things.
 

Spatula said:
Yes, that's the point of immediate actions. Why would you be initiating a power when it's not your turn unless it's in response to something? Every single immediate action power protects your from some form of impending harm: energy damage, falling, mental attacks, failed saving throws, etc. They wouldn't be of much use if you couldn't actually manifest them in response to such things.
I agree, but I wonder - you can definitely, as I read it, use the power as you see the wave of fire bursting towards you. But can you use it after you know how much damage is caused?
That's pretty much how I read the Elan special ability, but I am not sure.
 

Remove ads

Top