D&D General How do you deal with long breaks in your campaign?

not-so-newguy

I'm the Straw Man in your argument
Welp, I had to send this message out today:
Sorry guys, but I need to take a break for a month. Start up again in February.

This 100% has to do with Covid safety. I work in a restaurant and this Omicron variant is extremely contagious. We currently have four people out because of exposure (no symptoms yet. Not even sure if they tested positive). Even though i'm vaccinated + booster, I'm limiting my interactions with friends and family. I think it would be smart to wait and see if we have another surge of infections.

In the meantime, I will be messaging fart jokes and pics of my sweetass dungeon tiles.
As always, feel free to ask question or discuss things

I'm grateful we got a chance to play in-person as long as we have, but I'm putting the campaign on hiatus. I said a month, but it may extend beyond that. To be clear, VTT is impossible for us.

So how do you deal with long breaks in your campaign? Do you do anything to keep interest up?

el-remmen

Moderator Emeritus
My two groups have a discord for downtime logistics and activities and we even handle some RP and investigation via chat using individual channels so that when the group reunites several PCs have info or developments to share with everyone else. This is in addition to the wiki we use just to have a record of everything. This is also an opt-in thing individualized thing, so players who just want to wait because any form of online play is not for them don't feel obligated to participate and don't miss out on the main goings-on.

We also played remotely for over a year (not a VTT, I used zoom and a table camera).

not-so-newguy