How do you pronunce "grognard"?

How do you pronunce "grognard"?

• "GROG-nerd" – /'ɡrɑɡnərd/ for those down with the International Phonetic Alphabet

Votes: 4 3.6%
  • "grog-NARD" – /'ɡrɑɡnɑrd/ in IPA

Votes: 65 59.1%
  • "gruh-NYAR(D)" – /ɡʀɔ'ɲaʀ/ in French, IPA

Votes: 28 25.5%
  • some other way

Votes: 13 11.8%

niklinna

satisfied?
EDIT: J. Quondam suggested "GRAWN-yard", which I'd lump in with "gruh-NYAR(D)" (option 3). Shame you can't edit poll responses! At least you can change your vote, if you see this after choosing.

I've recently heard a couple folks online pronounce "grognard" as the first poll option. I've always pronounced it as the third poll option, perhaps because I studied French in high school, perhaps because I listened to Edith Piaf a lot (she had a song called Les Grognards, look up the lyrics, it's about the ghosts of Napoleon's army marching eternally in the afterlife), perhaps because I might be considered a grognard!

Grognards was in fact a name specifically for the Old Guard Grenadiers of Napoleon's army. The word means "grumblers", because unlike most soldiers, they were allowed to complain freely—which of course they did.

I am particularly curious whether how you pronounce the word might have anything to do with a) whether you sef-identify as a grognard or not, and b) what generation/era of gamers you come from.

Last edited:

I started gaming in 1979 and use the second pronunciation. I don't identify as a grognard, although I can see why people might describe me as such. I have no knowledge of French, and a very poor grasp of English phonetics, due to having learned to read without using them. Although English is my native language, I cannot split words into syllables reliably.

MNblockhead

A Title Much Cooler Than Anything on the Old Site
From the OED: