How does Cover effect combat? No target?

StylinLP

First Post
I thought I knew how cover and concealment worked untill I read page 21 of the 3.5 DMG. Under the paragraph Line Of Sight.

What this says to me is that if your player tries to target another creature which is directly behind another like sized creature. That player has no line of sight. So that player can't target that creature with a bow or a spell.
Did I read this right?
Since another creature is blocking that target. That Target gets 100% cover?
I know there is a rule in the PHB that if a creature has any kind of cover it gets +4 to +8 to its AC.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The criteria for spells is "line of effect" which is much harder to avoid than simple cover. From the SRD:

Line of Effect: A line of effect is a straight, unblocked path that indicates what a spell can affect. A line of effect is canceled by a solid barrier. It’s like line of sight for ranged weapons, except that it’s not blocked by fog, darkness, and other factors that limit normal sight.

You must have a clear line of effect to any target that you cast a spell on or to any space in which you wish to create an effect. You must have a clear line of effect to the point of origin of any spell you cast.

A burst, cone, cylinder, or emanation spell affects only an area, creatures, or objects to which it has line of effect from its origin (a spherical burst’s center point, a cone-shaped burst’s starting point, a cylinder’s circle, or an emanation’s point of origin).

An otherwise solid barrier with a hole of at least 1 square foot through it does not block a spell’s line of effect. Such an opening means that the 5-foot length of wall containing the hole is no longer considered a barrier for purposes of a spell’s line of effect.

One person standing in front of another does not block a spell's line of effect. For that, you'd need a completely solid wall, without so much as a 1-square-foot gap in it.
 

PHB P.139 "Line of Sight"
The line is clear if it doesn't cross or even touch squares that block line of sight.

A creaturee is not a square that block line of sight.

PHB P.150 "Cover"
If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

Thus a creature provides cover, not total cover. And does not block LoS.
 

if i creature is standing behind another creatrure he has Partial cover b/c you could still shot him in the foot or leg. You CANNOT shot someone if they are around a corner or if a wall like item is blocking you from seeing them.
 


Remove ads

Top