How mean are you to your clerics???

I seem to remember PC’s being able to hold another object while using a light shield. This would lead me to rule that they can hold a holy symbol (and cast normally).

Or, just worship a god of shields, and use the large shield AS your holy symbol. (get your DM drunk first, then propose this).

-Tatsu
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hardhead said:
An old Sage Advice column clarified that you could "change grips" as a free action. For example, if you had a quarterstaff in your hand, you could let go with one hand and cast a spell, and still move.

Gruntharg's Law, in the 3E Main FAQ.

-Hyp.
 

i have been wondering

what is the rule on holy symbols? can my dwarf cleric have one worked into her fullplate armor? does it need to be seperate from everything else? or would this just depend on the DM?
 

tobyism said:
what is the rule on holy symbols? can my dwarf cleric have one worked into her fullplate armor? does it need to be seperate from everything else? or would this just depend on the DM?

It needs to be "in hand".

-Hyp.
 

I also recall that light shields let you hold something in your hand while using it. You can't _use_ the thing in hand to do anything, but you can hold a torch there, or hold a weapon momentarily while you cast a spell with the other hand. In other words, it's not quite as unrestrictive as a buckler, but more protective.
 


Hypersmurf said:
It needs to be "in hand".

-Hyp.

To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any).

Holy Symbol, Silver or Wooden: A holy symbol focuses positive energy. A cleric or paladin uses it as the focus for his spells and as a tool for turning undead. Each religion has its own holy symbol.

Spell Component Pouch: A spellcaster with a spell component pouch is assumed to have all the material components and focuses needed for spellcasting, except for those components that have a specific cost, divine focuses, and focuses that wouldn’t fit in a pouch.

Divine Focus (DF): A divine focus component is an item of spiritual significance. The divine focus for a cleric or a paladin is a holy symbol appropriate to the character’s faith.

If the Components line includes F/DF or M/DF, the arcane version of the spell has a focus component or a material component (the abbreviation before the slash) and the divine version has a divine focus component (the abbreviation after the slash).

To cast a spell with a somatic (S) component, you must gesture freely with at least one hand. You can’t cast a spell of this type while bound, grappling, or with both your hands full or occupied.

To cast a spell with a material (M), focus (F), or divine focus (DF) component, you have to have the proper materials, as described by the spell. Unless these materials are elaborate preparing these materials is a free action. For material components and focuses whose costs are not listed, you can assume that you have them if you have your spell component pouch.

I see no strong argument for requiring manipulation of a divine focus. It is even specifically excepted from being in the component pouch, which would require a hand free to get it out. It looks to me like this is subject to interpretation, and, if a DM so chooses, to allow no manipulation of a divine focus for casting divine spells.

In fact, the rules don't even say you need a free hand to use material components, but common sense says you do. Unless, of course, I missed a rule somewhere.
 
Last edited:

Artoomis said:
Unless, of course, I missed a rule somewhere.

Check under Grappling :) (Wasn't that obvious? :) )

You can't cast a spell while grappling unless you have in hand any material components or focuses you might need, and it's a full-round action to retrieve them (rather than the normal free action).

If you don't need to have them in hand to cast a spell, why would you need them in hand to cast the spell while grappling?

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Check under Grappling :) (Wasn't that obvious? :) )

You can't cast a spell while grappling unless you have in hand any material components or focuses you might need, and it's a full-round action to retrieve them (rather than the normal free action).

If you don't need to have them in hand to cast a spell, why would you need them in hand to cast the spell while grappling?

-Hyp.

That means you need be able to get to them or have them in hand, sure.

But note that Divine Focuses and Focuses are not the same. It could be intentional that Grappling only refers to focuses and not divine focuses. Could be.
 


Remove ads

Top