How Twinked can you get?


log in or register to remove this ad




Got a minor problem with the Ftr1 built with Mounted Combat, Spirited Charge...

For me it's pretty clearly written that you do triple damage with a lance while mounted and charging (per feat description). How do I convince someone who tells me that the doubling of the damage as per the Mounted Combat section (mounted charge with lance = double damage) still applies for a factor of four???
 

Darklone said:
For me it's pretty clearly written that you do triple damage with a lance while mounted and charging (per feat description). How do I convince someone who tells me that the doubling of the damage as per the Mounted Combat section (mounted charge with lance = double damage) still applies for a factor of four???

Show him the multiplying section.

MULTIPLYING
Sometimes a rule makes you multiply a number or a die roll. As long as you’re applying a single multiplier, multiply the number normally. When two or more multipliers apply to any abstract value (such as a modifier or a die roll), however, combine them into a single multiple, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. Thus, a double (×2) and a double (×2) applied to the same number results in a triple (×3, because 2 + 1 = 3).

And if that fails. Smack him with the PHB, DMG, and MM until he complies.
 

He cites the multiplying section as prove of his argument... he says double plus triple damage is quadrupel damage.

I'd rather go with the stacking rule, but it's an unnamed bonus.

Smack him hard: Thought about that, but it's an internet discussion :D

My players wouldn't dare...
 


Darklone said:
He cites the multiplying section as prove of his argument... he says double plus triple damage is quadrupel damage.

I'd rather go with the stacking rule, but it's an unnamed bonus.

Smack him hard: Thought about that, but it's an internet discussion :D

My players wouldn't dare...

The triple damage with a charging lance bit from Spirited Charge replaces the double damage with a charging lance normally. It's not in addition. If he doesn't buy that, hit him, and tell him that spirited charge effectively lets all attacks do double damage on a charge, which stacks with the lance double to equal triple damage. It was just poorly worded.
 

DanMcS said:
The triple damage with a charging lance bit from Spirited Charge replaces the double damage with a charging lance normally. It's not in addition. If he doesn't buy that, hit him, and tell him that spirited charge effectively lets all attacks do double damage on a charge, which stacks with the lance double to equal triple damage. It was just poorly worded.
I guess I have to agree with the smacking... he apparently already declined that explanation.

Btw: I don't think it's poorly worded, it says rather clearly how much damage you deal, nothing about additional damage...
 

Remove ads

Top