That makes no sense. There's no requirement for you to pick the path in order to cross space. I don't pick the path of the airplanes I board, but I still cross space to the place I am landing.
Teleport also crosses space even though the caster doesn't pick the path. It just does so instantly and bypasses physical obstructions. In other words, it goes through another dimension to get you there.
And...............................I've said the same thing in like every post man. You cannot appear in the sphere, yes. What the sphere does not do per RAW is stop the teleport from beginning outside the sphere. It only prevents teleportation WITHIN THE SPHERE. So by RAW, the teleport goes off without a hitch from outside and then fails inside, leaving the caster in a limbo that the rules do not cover.
This is not written anywhere, but would be a ruling the DM could make.
The rules for the anti-magic sphere do not say teleportation fails. It says, teleportation fails WITHIN THE SPHERE. Only half of it fails, not all of it.
"This spell instantly transports you and up to eight willing creatures of your choice that you can see within range, or a single object that you can see within range, to a destination you select."
There. It transports you to a destination. There is no mention of not crossing intervening space and without such wording, it works like any other transportation other than you arrive instantly. YOU have to prove your claim of no intervening space, which isn't said anywhere.
What's more, Dimension Door is a teleport spell. Clearly from the name, teleportation goes through another dimension(plane). And, the Hallow spell says this.
"Extradimensional Interference. Affected creatures can't move or travel using teleportation or by extradimensional or interplanar means."
Clearly teleportation is travel through another dimension, or it wouldn't be placed in the Extradimensional Interference category. If travel happened with no intervening space, no other dimensions would be accessed and Hallow would not affect it.
And more. The School of Conjuration in the Wizard Class says this.
"As your mastery grows, you learn spells of transportation and can teleport yourself across vast distances, even to other planes of existence, in an instant."
Not travel instantly without crossing intervening space, but rather it explicitly says you teleport across the vast distances.
So again, you need to prove that all of what RAW says or implies is wrong and that your claim of no intervening space being crossed when you teleport is correct.
Per Mariam Webster:
2. In fiction : instantaneous travel between two locations without crossing the intervening space
I don't know if anyone pointed that out yet, but if an English Dictionary says it doesn't cross through a dimension and the spell doesn't specify that it crosses through another dimension, this becomes a hard sell.
That's not to say that some teleportation type spells don't do so. Just that it doesn't appear that this one does.