brehobit said:
[*] Does a totem require it be held in hand to use? If so where does it say that? If if so, what's up with the long spear prof? Seems odd...
the part on 'holy symbol' (see PHB, the section where it talks about magic items) says 'unlike all the implements a holy symbol doesn't take a hold slot (or some other wording like that)' also, each of the descriptions with the other implements (such as rods, staves, etc) talks about how it takes a hand to wield. however, it does not have that specific reference in the totem description of magic items, but it doesn't say that it doesn't either. given the reference in the holy symbol section about how by default implements do need a hand to wield, i'd say totems need to as well.
yes, the longspear thing is odd (for several reasons) but i think it's initial intent was for those who want to stand behind a SC and attack from melee 2. There are some magic longspears that count as totems specifically for this reason. can't name any off the top of my head but i'm positive i've seen it in either the magic weapon section or the totem section.
brehobit said:
[*] How does the spirit companion (hereafter SC) move? Can it move over pits? Water? Can it fly? Can it climb?
I've seen page after page of discussion on this including various vague customer service responses. i'd tell you my opinion but no matter what i said here, you'll have people arguing every other answer for the next 20 pages.. so i'll simply say to come to your own judgment on that (there is talk of it hovering but not flying, of it flying, of it not hovering and not flying, etc - to name just a few of the variety of answers).
but specifically on climb, there is no hint (anywhere) that it gains a climb speed so i'd say that part is a definite no. it does have a move speed. my opinions on the other parts would just be my own interpretations...
but keep in mind that you do need line of sight (or is it line of effect?) no matter where it goes. and with the minor action call and range 20 you could really just pop it around the battlefield faster than it can move (so pop it to the other side of the pit if you have the actions to spare without worrying about fly/hover/etc) - but, sure, it will come up.. so just come up with an answer that works for your group (or sift through 30 pages on Enworld and WotC boards on the topic).
brehobit said:
[*] If I'm reading the rules right an ally can share a space with the SC. Does he get the bonuses (whatever they may be) for being "adjacent" to the SC?
While the general conjuration rule says that conjurations do not occupy a space, the SC power says that it does. Hence, no one can occupy a space with it.
However, allies can cross through it (and it can cross through allies) over the course of moving, but it can not end in the same space.
brehobit said:
[*] An enemy can't move through a SC's space, but can the SC move through an enemy's space? Can the SC stop there?
It can not move through enemy spaces because it occupies a space and allies can move through each others' spaces, but ally-enemy can not. And if it can't move through it, the question as to whether or not it can stop there is negated.
brehobit said:
[*] If you are a wizard, and (say) take a cleric multi-class, can you use your holy symbol for your wizard spells? Your staff for your cleric spells?
no - wizard powers can only be modified by wizard implements, cleric powers by holy symbols. etc. there is some random magic item (i believe it's a staff) that counts as both a wizard implement and a holy symbol for some god of magic.
brehobit said:
[*] Assuming the answer to the above is no, I assume you can use (say) a rod for both sets of class powers if it is an implement of both classes yes?
yes. if you are both a wizard and a bard mutliclass and get a wand (which is an implement for both classes) the one wand can be used for either the wizard or bard powers.
brehobit said:
[*] If you have a Paragon Class that uses an "implement" but it doesn't specify which implement how does that work?
i feel like this was clarified in either PHB2 or Forgotten Realms Players Guide (because there was a spellscared paragon path that didn't have a class requirement therefore the question came up).. bottom line was something like if it doesn't specify than any implement you are proficient with will work.
though, i'd probably do an "is it reasonable" house rule ...somethings just might not make much sense (are you really going to channel some arcane frost spell through a holy symbol of pelor (god of sun) etc).
disclaimer: i'm no expert. just giving a set of quick and dirty answers.