Skinwalker
First Post
Skill roll called for, with a DC of 25. Character has a +4 and rolls a natural 20, for a total result of 24. Does the skill check succeed by virtue of the natural 20, or fail because it missed the required DC?
LokiDR said:Fail
The rule of natural 20s always succeed only applies to attacks, and saves with the errata.
melkoriii said:
What errata is that?
The ones on the WotC website say nothing about saves being quto pass/fail on 1 and 20.
By the books saves are not auto pass on 20 and fail on 1.
we will see what 3.5 says.
Artoomis said:
Correct. It's the FAQ that states that saves fail on "1" and succeed on "20."
Artoomis said:
Correct. It's the FAQ that states that saves fail on "1" and succeed on "20."
That is very nice, but there wasn't any intention after about a year or so to have any errata. So if you don't use the FAQ, you are using suboptimal, and according to Wotc even unofficial rules.melkoriii said:
Yet its not in the errata.
For me the FAQ is not offical enough.
If there is a errata then I will say its core.
to me the FAQ is like calling Customer Support. Not reliable and not offical.