Improv and RPGs

Voadam

Legend
I just started an improv class this weekend with an RPG theme.

I had taken an improvisational drama class once in high school but this was the first explicit improv thing I had done in the last 30+ years.

About half the class was straight improv games and warmups and the second half was playing a modified D&D themed version of Honey Heist (a one page RPG rule set which I learned at the table) as a one shot.

The game felt a lot like a normal game, with adventuring and joking, just with a bunch of enthusiastic strangers who like to first person roleplay.

We made characters by rolling a d6 on a chart for an adjective and then for a class, so I was a rookie cleric, but we also had two slick knights, an incompetent mage, a washed up fighter, another rookie cleric, a rookie mage, etc. There were nine PCs so a big group.

My favorite line I came up with was when we found out a hospital was overrun with snakes. I said. "Oh snakes, we covered this!" I turned to the other rookie cleric and said "We should do the Ireland protocol!" he agreed and said "Oh yes absolutely, the Ireland protocol." About 10 minutes later as one of the knights and the thief were instead taking care of the snakes my fellow rookie cleric said to me out of character that he had thought that was just a random thing I said as an idea creation and he had gone along with it in character, but he realized after the fact that it was actually also a nice Saint Patrick joke.