Sure. But can you make an attack with a two-handed weapon, without using a two-handed weapon?
No. But we're not talking about making an attack with a ranged weapon. We're talking about making a ranged attack with a weapon that -counts- as a ranged weapon which is a -very- subtle difference, but important.
'Counts as' is not the same thing as 'is'. It's just good enough for all intents and purposes.
Can you? If you're using your longsword as an implement, are you making an attack with a weapon, or are you making an attack wiht an implement?
But is the attack you are making, using the holy avenger as an implement, an 'attack with a weapon'?
Weapon Focus says, in fact, you are making an attack with a weapon.
I'd maintain that the attack is not an attack with a weapon, it is an attack with an implement.
Weapon Focus.
If the warlock with Light Blade Precision uses his pact blade as an implement for his Eldritch Blast, is the Eldritch Blast an 'attack with a light blade'?
-Hyp.
Absolutely. Light Blade Precision doesn't mention weapons at all. It meantions 'light blade' which is, for the record, a valid implement type as well as weapon type.
Weapon types can be implement types thanks to the Weapon Focus ruling and swordmages.
Where are you getting that rule from? There's literally nothing in the PHB which indicates this. The rule is that a melee weapon is a weapon that is used to attack foes within reach of the weapon, period.
You're misquoting.
"...melee weapons, which you use to attack foes within reach of the weapon."
That does not preclude other uses of melee weapons. If you use a melee weapon as an implement, it doesn't force the power to attack within the reach of the weapon. If you use a quarterstaff to pry open a stuck door, it doesn't make it not a melee weapon. It's just a melee weapon you've put to an alternate use.
The thrown property is an alternate use for certain melee weapons, as well as a determination for how ammunition is used for that weapon. It is nothing more than that.
Your two Fallacies:
That objects in the game lose their properties when used for alternate purposes. This is false, as proven by multiple rulings in the past. There is no reason to believe that it does not continue.
That objects in the game cannot have two properties that are conceptually 'opposite' when in fact, no mutual exclusivity exists.
The text that matters states a rule as to what melee weapons can do, a rule as to what ranged weapons can't do, and then, GASP, an -exception- to both these rules! An exception in this game!
Powers and properties that care only about melee basic attacks -explicitly say- 'basic melee attack.' Intellegent Blademaster does not follow this pattern so it cannot be automaticly assumed that it means the same thing.
Fact: Javelin is a melee weapon by the definition of Javelin.
Fact: Ranged Basic Attack is a basic attack.
Intellegent Blademaster asks for those two requirements, and both are satisfied. Anything else requires inventing rules that don't exist.