Involuntary movement = AoO?

Ki Ryn said:
Does that SRD quote agree with the PHB (either printing)? I have a vauge recollection of wording that indicated AoO occuring as normal for the forced movement, but I don't have a book handy.

I dunno. I don't have my book here right now or I'd have checked that. That's why I had to resort to the SRD.

Mind you, I never said you don't ever get any AoOs against moved/moving targets during a Bull Rush. I said the 25% rule applies to the initial stage only. At least according to the SRD.

If the two creatures move more than 5 feet, I can't see any reason why normal AoOs wouldn't apply. To either of them.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

To make thing even more complicated... Since those AoO were provoked by moving, would +4 AC bonus from mobility apply?

By rules I would say yes, but I can't figure out any sensible reason to support that.
 

IceBear said:
Em - that was in response to Corwin, as I got the impression (maybe wrong) that he wouldn't allow a AoO on someone that was bullrushed for only 5ft.

Oh. Gotcha. It was your initial reply to my post that got me worried that we still weren't on the same wavelength. :)
 

In my PHB (1st printing) in the Bull Rush Results section it has the following:

Note: The defender provokes attacks of opportunity if he is moved. So do you, if you move with him. The two of you do not provoke attacks of opportunity from each other as a result of this movement.

I do not see this movement as being the same thing as a 5ft adjustment, so I would allow AoO if the defender is moved within someone's threat range. As I stated before, I don't see the movement of the Bull Rush as being the character's movement, and thus no 5ft adjustment.

IceBear
 



This has got me wondering on a tangent...

Picture this situation :

1..2.. <- 80' -> .. 3

... where 1 and 2 are PCs and 3 is an enemy 80' away, about to escape with the Item of Quest Fulfilment.

With a base 30' move, neither 1 nor 2 can reach 3, even with a charge, in time to stop him escaping.

However... if 1 can Bull Rush 2 20' before 2's action, 2 will be 60' away from 3 - within charge range.

1 can achieve this by exceeding 2's opposed strength check by 15.

If he isn't resisting, is 2 permitted to "take 0", or to withhold his strength bonus, or even to treat his Strength as 0 (for a -5 modifier)?

-Hyp.
 




Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top