Is a Quickened Spell considered a free action?

Bungus

First Post
or, does it count as a Swift or Immediate action?

I ask because the SRD says it is a Free Action, but then specifies that you can only cast one Quickened spell per round, which puts it more in line with Immediate or Swift. The SRD also does not really go into Swift & Immediate actions that I can recall, either.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

or, does it count as a Swift or Immediate action?

I ask because the SRD says it is a Free Action, but then specifies that you can only cast one Quickened spell per round, which puts it more in line with Immediate or Swift. The SRD also does not really go into Swift & Immediate actions that I can recall, either.

It's a swift action. The "free action once per round" text comes from the fact that swift actions weren't introduced at 3.5's launch, and the SRD is only supposed to use official PHB text.
 

Thanks for the update - found the definition in the Rules Compendium. Didn't see it my first time looking.
 
Last edited:



They should have made a lot more part of the SRD or at least OGC, but there wasn't much new for most of 3.5.
 

or, does it count as a Swift or Immediate action?

I ask because the SRD says it is a Free Action, but then specifies that you can only cast one Quickened spell per round, which puts it more in line with Immediate or Swift. The SRD also does not really go into Swift & Immediate actions that I can recall, either.

In 3.0 it was a free action with the caveat that only one round. In 3.5 it's reclassified as a swift action.
 

Remove ads

Top