Item Creation Question...

Cedric

First Post
Using a quicken spell metamagic rod...can you craft magic staves with quickened spells...even though you the creator do not have quicken spell?

Cedric
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Cedric said:
Using a quicken spell metamagic rod...can you craft magic staves with quickened spells...even though you the creator do not have quicken spell?

Cedric

While the intuitive answer may be "Why not?"

The question then arises "Do I really want 17th level Archmages casting Quickened Meteor Swarms for 50 consecutive rounds in my game?"

So, IMC, I'd say no. Others may disagree.
 

Hmm...never thought about it that way. I was thinking that even though you are using the rod, it still would take a higher level spell slot...interesting...

Cedric
 

Cedric said:
Hmm...never thought about it that way. I was thinking that even though you are using the rod, it still would take a higher level spell slot...interesting...

Cedric

Perhaps I see this incorrectly, but I see the cost to create such a staff as being 17 (caster level) * 13 (spell level) * 375 gp = 82,875 gp and a few XP. Seems rather cheap...

But then I think the metamagic rods, especially the Quicken rods are too cheap. Compare them to the price they were when first introduced in T&B. Look at the price increases, as they pertained to 1) Spell level increase due the metamagic feat 2) spell level increase due to the actual spell affected.

Somebody was fast alseep when they assigned the new prices, either that or they had no clue what they were doing whatsoever.
 

green slime said:
Perhaps I see this incorrectly, but I see the cost to create such a staff as being 17 (caster level) * 13 (spell level) * 375 gp = 82,875 gp and a few XP. Seems rather cheap...

Shouldn't the caster level be raised also? I mean, a 17th level caster can't cast 13th level spells... you need a 24th level caster to pull that off, no? So
24 * 13 * 375 = 117,000gp?

Slim
 

Well, a totally strict reading of the rules would say "no". The PHB (working from 3.0) ch. 5, "Feats: Metamagic Feats: Magic Items and Metamagic Spells" says that the creator must himself have the right feat, not that the spell must be cast with the necessary metamagic. I can't find anywhere that says a metamagiced spell actually becomes the prerequisite in this case. I'm sure some DMs would set that consideration aside, however.
 
Last edited:

I would rule that "The correct spell" means as if you cast it.

So you would have to mem/cast the spell as a metamagic spell. If you can not cast a 13th lvl spell, you can from a scroll you just need to make the Spellcraft check.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top