Joint item creation

Brown Jenkin

First Post
I have looked (but maybe not enough) for info on two spellcasters combining to create an item. I am thinking here of a Wizard with craft wand and a cleric with cure spells creatinng a wand of cure light wounds together. I remember in the original 3.0 rules this was not covered but the sage and FAQ eventualy said this was ok to do. Is this in the 3.5 rules one way or another?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Brown Jenkin said:
I have looked (but maybe not enough) for info on two spellcasters combining to create an item. I am thinking here of a Wizard with craft wand and a cleric with cure spells creatinng a wand of cure light wounds together. I remember in the original 3.0 rules this was not covered but the sage and FAQ eventualy said this was ok to do. Is this in the 3.5 rules one way or another?
Actually this was in 3.0. In fact, there are several items that require this kind of cooperation, because they have spell requirements from multiple classes. I don't have my books handy to find where it was in 3.0, or where it is in 3.5, but I believe that boots of the winterland are an example of such an item.
 

Jhyrryl said most of what I was going to say... the one ambiguous factor is who pays the XP. IMHO, it should be split evenly, unless the spell required has an XP cost -- and then, that cost is paid by the specific spellcaster alone.

-- N
 

Jhyrryl said:
Actually this was in 3.0. In fact, there are several items that require this kind of cooperation, because they have spell requirements from multiple classes. I don't have my books handy to find where it was in 3.0, or where it is in 3.5, but I believe that boots of the winterland are an example of such an item.

Here we go, 3.0 DMG p. 241:
Most of the time [prerequisites] take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed).

That language has not changed in 3.5.

And boots of the winterland no longer require multiple spellcasters (all the required spells are now on the Druid spell list), but eyes of doom still do, even though its required spells changed a little.
 

From the 3.5 SRD:

It is possible for more than one character to cooperate in the creation of an item, with each participant providing one or more of the prerequisites. In some cases, cooperation may even be necessary.

But it then goes on to say:

If two or more characters cooperate to create an item, they must agree among themselves who will be considered the creator for the purpose of determinations where the creator’s level must be known. The character designated as the creator pays the XP required to make the item.
 

Legildur said:
From the 3.5 SRD:



But it then goes on to say:
If two or more characters cooperate to create an item, they must agree among themselves who will be considered the creator for the purpose of determinations where the creator’s level must be known. The character designated as the creator pays the XP required to make the item.

By this statement the person providing the spell will always be the person providing the XP cost.
 

Spells aren't always required. Magic weapons and armor are a case that springs to mind...... But your point makes sense, even if not explicit in the rules.
 

Remove ads

Top