Knight's Shield Ally, Shield Other and Damage Resitance.

Bagpuss

Legend
When does DR get applied in each case?

Say we have a Knight and a Cleric both in Adamantine Full Plate DR3/-

First off the Spell Shield Other the Cleric casts it on the Knight and the Knight is later hit by a greataxe for 15 points of damage.

Am I correct in working it out as follows.

The Knight's DR3 kicks in reducing the damage to 12 points. Then the Shield Other kicks in making it 6pts each. The clerics DR3/- doesn't apply (because the damage is coming from the spell) so he takes the full 6 points.

Now second case. The spell is not in effect.

A greataxe swings at the cleric and the Knight uses his Shield Ally ability to take half the 15pts damage. The damage is divided in two, the Knight taking 7 pts and the Cleric 8pts. The damage is both cases is still from the greataxe so the Knight's DR kicks in and he takes 4pts, and the Clerics DR kicks in so he take 5 pts.


Third case. Shield Other is in effect

A greataxe swings at the cleric and the Knight uses his Shield Ally ability to take half the 15pts damage. The damage is divided in two, the Knight taking 7 pts and the Cleric 8pts. The damage is both cases is still from the greataxe so the Knight's DR kicks in and he would take 4pts but that is divided in two by the Shield Other so he only takes 2pts.

The Clerics DR kicks in against the first lot of 8pts of damage so he take 5 pts, but then he gets another 2pts from the Shield Other spell, meaning a total of 7pts.

Have I done this right, RAW?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad



in a fullplate and furthermore somehow both have DR...
or
The Fullplate provides DR ?

If the last is the case, then its a houserule, and to solve the problem, a post in the houserule forum might help you tweak the rules for your convenience..

Anyway...
For the 2nd Case, the knights DR doesn't really kick in (in case of armor DR) as he isn't hit by the Axe directly..
 

It's not a house rule. Adamantine armour provides DRX/- in the case of heavy armour like Full plate it is DR3/-. It's been a core rule since 3rd Ed.

Goolpsy said:
Anyway...
For the 2nd Case, the knights DR doesn't really kick in (in case of armor DR) as he isn't hit by the Axe directly..

Yes you are, you "absorb" some of the damage.

Besides it doesn't matter the damage is still the slashing damage from the axe, unlike Shield Other where it is damage from the spell (and spell damage bypasses DR). Where as Shield Ally is an Extraordinary ability not a spell or spell-like effect so it doesn't bypass DR.
 
Last edited:



Remove ads

Top