LG vs. N: Lawful Good Victorious!

===
Actually, at a meta-game level, it wasn't clear whether or not it worked against the horse. In-game, all the archon knows is that it smashed a few bolts in front of the horse, and then teleported in front of it. That apparently scared the horse enough (in conjuction with the archon's menacing aura) to cause it to flee.

In this situation, the archon is observing a shaken magical beast. Magical beasts are often more intelligent than their animal counterparts, sometimes even as smart as humans with their own languages. Similar actions, plus a threatening speech (in case it is intelligent enough), which should net some positive boni. If the intimidate works, the shaken beast will become frightened and flee (since fear effects stack).

Basically, LG keeps trying for non-lethal wins unless the creature demonstrates hostility. With a 5-round limit, LG can only afford one such attempt (regrettably).

In this particular case, the triggers for a bolt are :
1) Kitty doesn't flee the arena
2) Kitty attacks.

As long as the kitty stays still, it's a full attack sequence. Otherwise, it's "find the center, smash a bolt at it", like the archon did earlier. Note that the archon is NOT readying a bolt in the rules sense. It's merely waiting to see the outcome of this rounds' actions.

Having clarified all of that, I'm curious as to why you consider the initimidate checks useless? The chances are low, I'll admit (the archon doesn't have any ranks in intimidate), but it's far from impossible.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ooc

Again, my apologies for interrupting. But, there are only two types of intimidate checks and the only one the archon can perform is "changing another's behavior" which takes 1 minute. If you want the combat intimidate, you need to be in melee combat, and it takes a standard action (so it's impossible, not just useless). I'm just guessing you didn't really mean intimidate and you intended it as pure RP, but you mentioned the check explicitly; so I thought maybe I missed something. :)
 

Thanks I2K, I forgot about the melee combat part of the Intimidate check. But basically I considered the archon's action as a RP free action parley attempt at motivating the cat to do something. I enjoy GL's imaginative actions and there was no point in rules-lawyering his characterization of the parley. I'm trying as hard as possible to factor it in to the cat's behavior.

Round 99:

The cat moves away to the west and the archon finds itself in the light of the arena again.
The sphere of darkness stops with the edge right in front of the archon.

Damage needs to occur in round 100 or there will be a draw.
 

==
West? Um, you mean *towards* the archon? Which is currently at 20N80E0H?

I'm confused.

Let me check the timeline

Round 96:
Nogra enters the arena; Nogra @ 20N100E.
Archon teleports to 20N110E15Z and wastes an action 'cause I flubbed it.

Round 97:
Nogra ??? (assumed cowering)
Archon fires light ray(s?). No change in position for either.

Round 98:
Nogra moves to 20N90E.
Archon bobs, ending up at 20N110E0Z, where it casts Continual Flame. The effect fails, extinguished by the darkness.

(Things get confused here. As posted, I have...)
Round 99:
Nogra ??? (assumed at 20N90E)
Archon moves to 20N80E and does an intimidate/parley thingy. ???

Round 100:
Nogra moves to (assumed) 20N70E. ???!!!
Archon ???!!!

(Based on the posts, I think it's supposed to be...)
Round 99:
Nogra moves to (assumed) 20N70E, leaving archon in the light.

(Which would change the flow to ...)
Archon moves to 20N60E, still within its single move, then attempts intimidating parley.

Round 100:
No-one's acted yet.

Of course, even that's probably wrong. Brain hurts. Somehow, one of us (probably me with the teleport/fire mess up) moving twice in a row, I think.
 

Round 99: Nogra holds action, hoping archon doesn't see it.

Archon does parley thingy.

Nogra moves, leaving Archon in the light.

Round 100: No one has acted yet. Archon's turn.
 

Ah. in that case, the Nogra had to move *towards* the archon (because the archon was west of it at 20N80E v the nogra's 20N90E).

That's what I wanted to clarify. So I get to ask you - is that what you intended?
 

No, I'm sorry, I didn't notice that you hopped over it to the west.

In that case, it moved east and the same effect occurs. The archon is in the light with the darkness right in front of it.
 

ooc

The problem there is that I think that would put the nogra at 20N120E, and thus out of the arena, since it's a 40' radius sphere of darkness.

I'll assume, however, that the cat is at 20N115E. And finish up my post before I go to bed (at 0330).

===
Ic

The archon moves to 25N110E and blasts the cat, singing a hymn that asks the cat (and its god) for forgiveness.
 

The sphere is 40 foot diameter, not 40 foot radius.

Round 100:

The archon fires at the spot where the cat should be (20N110E), but can't see it in the darkness.

The ray hits! (Rolled 20 ranged touch, beat miss chance) 3 points of damage! The cat has 10 hp left.

The cat shrieks and moves to the south. Once again the archon is in the light, with the darkness right in front.
 


Remove ads

Top