Lightning Bolt - Destroyer of Magic Rings?

daemonslye

First Post
SRD - SPELLS:
Lightning Bolt

Evocation [Electricity]
Level: Sor/Wiz 3
Components: V, S, M
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level) or 50 ft. + 5 ft./level
Area: 5 ft. wide to medium range (100 ft. + 10 ft./level); or 10 ft. wide to 50 ft. + 5 ft./level
Duration: Instantaneous
Saving Throw: Reflex half
Spell Resistance: Yes

The character releases a powerful stroke of electrical energy that deals 1d6 points of damage per caster level (maximum 10d6) to each creature within its area. The bolt begins at the character's fingertips.

The lightning bolt sets fire to combustibles and damages objects in its path. It can melt metals with a low melting point, such as lead, gold, copper, silver, or bronze. If the damage caused to an interposing barrier shatters or breaks through it, the bolt may continue beyond the barrier if the spell’s range permits; otherwise, it stops at the barrier just as any other spell effect does.

In a recent game, the ruling ended with a number of characters
in the party wearing slag where once had been magic rings, amulets, necklaces, etc. Successful saves made by characters
did not make a difference. The items got their own saves (+2 REF
for being magic vs DC19 (buffed wizard)) and generally had
hardness/hp of 2/1 (even with a 5th level wizard, these items
will not survive the damage even with a successful save).

PHB.p136
Saving Throws
...An item attended by a character (being grasped, touched, or worn) receives a saving throw just as if the character herself were making the saving throw.

I had assumed this means that the item gets a save equal to
the wielders save (does this include all bonuses? base+ability+
luck+etc?
). In either case, with the damage dealt by the spell,
you will be covered in slag in any case.

Would a resistance effect extend to a worn item (endure still
equals slag, but if this spell works as written, pro/elements-
electricity
becomes indispensable..)?

Just wanted to check with the group here - Is this correct? Are
there any references to this in other documents (I checked only
the core books, T&B and the FAQ).

Thanks,

~D
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I don't think you did it right

I believe the rule is that if your PC makes the save your magic items don't have to. Only if you fail a save would they be in jeopardy.

Check out the DMG page 176 under the heading "Damaging Magic Items". That might help you out a bit.

EDIT:Found another reference that will help your magic item stash. Check out the PHB page 150 under the bold type "Items surviving after a saving throw".

What the references I listed are ultimately going to show is that all your stuff was fine and you guys got seriously reemed by your DM not knowing the rules.
 
Last edited:

The items don't even have to make saving throws as long as they're being worn by a creature/construct. They're considered part of the creature and only risk getting destroyed if you roll a 1.
 

daemonslye said:
Successful saves made by characters did not make a difference.
This is the mistake. Unless you roll a natural 1 on your save, your items are not affected, unless the spell specifically says so. This is not the case with the Lightning Bolt spell. Check out the PH, page 150, Items Surviving After a Saving Throw.
 

Re: Re: Lightning Bolt - Destroyer of Magic Rings?

Dr. Zoom said:

This is the mistake. Unless you roll a natural 1 on your save, your items are not affected, unless the spell specifically says so. This is not the case with the Lightning Bolt spell. Check out the PH, page 150, Items Surviving After a Saving Throw.

And even then there is an order of things to be effected. Only usually a few kinds of items are effected even wtih a 1.
 

I have a feeling there are going to be "a number of characters" that will be somewhat surprised if they see this thread. ;)

Mahali and Dr. Zoom, are correct.
 

Unless, of course, your DM decided to include this as a house-rule, which is entirely his perogative. I know that I have a house rule which gives items a "massive damage" threshold - varying by material and energy attack type.

I like to see stuff burned up :)
 

Agreed, Plane!

I never saw any reason why a fireball should kill a character without heating his wooden shield a little bit :D
 

Darklone said:
I never saw any reason why a fireball should kill a character without heating his wooden shield a little bit :D

Because it would slow the game to a crawl to apply such damage to all the characters' items (plus throw the treasure economy out of whack).

No, thanks.
 

One of my PCs wanted his Fireballs to burn enemy equipment. They were fighting kobolds, and he assumed they didn't have good magic items.

I promptly dropped several weak fireballs (5th-level) on the 14th-level mage, and he failed a save. I ruled that every last scrap of his equipment was gone, including his underwear. [Strip-Fighting feat required] Then I told him I would follow the rules in the book (and give back his gear) if he stopped whining. He stopped whining.
 

Remove ads

Top