Long Spear with Longer Arms

Squid Bait

First Post
Somewhere in the rules it says that a large creature with a reach weapon doubles his reach to 20'.

So...

Medium humanoid with a non-reach weapon = 5 ft.
Medium humanoid with a large reach weapon = 10 ft.
Large humanoid with a non-reach weapon = 10 ft.
Large humanoid with a huge reach weapon = 20 ft.

Here's the question. What is the reach of large humanoid using a large reach weapon one handed? My logic would suggest 15', but I can find no rules regarding this.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Your use of "large" reach weapon and "huge" reach weapon may be misleading. There's no such qualifier. They are either reach weapons or they are not. Additionally, there's no limitation on the number of hands/limbs needed to wield a weapon to gain reach. If the Large creature can legally wield the reach weapon in one hand, he still can make attacks out to 20ft, though typically (for most reach weapons) he cannot attack at 5ft or 10ft.
 

Think he is talking with the following example.

Large Creature (let's say an Ogre)
Normal Reach = 10'
With LARGE-sized Reach weapon = 15'
With a Huge-sized Reach weapon (use of Monkey Grip) = 20'

Right?

Then they proably took some of the Feats from Dragon 331.
There was a whole article about Pole Arms in there.
 


Yes, Yeti said it more clearly.

A large creature can use a large weapon one handed. Thus an ogre with 2 weapon fighting and oversized 2-weapon fighting could dual-wield spiked chains. That's kinda scary.

But would his reach be 15' or 20'? I'm still a bit fuzzy.

EDIT: OK Infiniti I just now got your last post. It's 20'. Can you back that up with a rule quote.
 

Too bad Yeti said it wrong. The natural reach of a Large creature is 10 feet, and reach weapons always double that.
SRD said:
A reach weapon is a melee weapon that allows its wielder to strike at targets that aren’t adjacent to him or her. Most reach double the wielder’s natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away.
You seem to be talking about 3.0 where weapons sizes were quite different. In 3.5, weapons are categorized by Light, One-handed, or Two-handed, and then again by size, so a Large-sized Spiked chain would be two-handed for an ogre.
 

No, I'm talking about 3.5...

PHB pg. 113

The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder?s size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed.

SRD

A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away.

The key word in that second quote is "appropriate." As I understand this, a large creature would need a huge (2-handed for him) spiked chain to classify as "appropriate," and the same large creature could use a large (1-handed for him) spiked chain in one hand as an "inappropriate" weapon at a -2 penalty.

SRD

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can?t make optimum use of a weapon that isn?t properly sized for it. A cumulative minus two penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder.

Which brings me, yet again, back to the question of the reach of this "inappropriate" weapon.

Edit: Several wording changes for clarity... I hope.
 
Last edited:

A large creature uses large weapons.

A large creature using a spiked chain uses a large spiked chain. It is a two-handed large weapon as opposed to a one-handed or light large weapon, but they are all large.
 

OK, I have a lot of experience saying things clearly and simply, I hope this works...

In 3.0 weapons were called ‘small’, ‘medium’, ‘large’, and so on. That meant how big the weapon was. A medium creature could use a large weapon (like a greatsword) in two hands because it was one size bigger than him (it’s large, he’s medium).

Now, in 3.5 it’s different. They kept the old naming of ‘small’, ‘medium’, ‘large’, and so on; but with one BIG difference. In 3.5 the name for the size of the weapon refers to the size of the intended wielder, not the size of the weapon itself. So a dagger and a greatsword both made to be used by humans are both ‘medium weapons’.

For clarity, I’ve replaced the words ‘small’, ‘medium’, ‘large’ (Etc.) with “weapon for a small creature”, “weapon for a medium creature”, “weapon for a large creature”, (Etc.).

So, we have this…

A medium creature wielding a reach weapon made for a medium creature can attack in the 5-10’ range, but usually not the 0-5’range. The number of hands being used has no effect.

A Large creature wielding a reach weapon made for a large creature can attack the 10-20’ range, but usually not the 0-10’ range. Again, the number of hands has no effect.

So the interesting bit is this. . .

A large creature wielding a reach weapon made for a medium creature STILL gets to attack the 10-20’ range, but usually not the 0-10’ range. Again, the number of hands has no effect.

Odd, huh?

-Tatsu
 

Remove ads

Top