LOS and cover

klofft

Explorer
The situation: A 5' wide corridor. At the end of the hallway is a medium humanoid. In front of him is a medium PC, engaged in melee combat with the humanoid. 30' back down the hallway is the PC's friend, a PC archer. The archer wants to shoot at the humanoid. It's -4 to hit because his target is engaged in melee. Does the humanoid ALSO get cover (+4 AC) because the archer's friend is in the way?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

klofft said:
The situation: A 5' wide corridor. At the end of the hallway is a medium humanoid. In front of him is a medium PC, engaged in melee combat with the humanoid. 30' back down the hallway is the PC's friend, a PC archer. The archer wants to shoot at the humanoid. It's -4 to hit because his target is engaged in melee. Does the humanoid ALSO get cover (+4 AC) because the archer's friend is in the way?

Yes.

To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

The Precise Shot feat will allow the archer to ignore the -4 penalty; the Improved Precise Shot feat will allow the archer to ignore the +4 bonus to AC.

-Hyp.
 

SRD 3.5 said:
COVER

To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

SRD 3.5 said:
If you shoot or throw a ranged weapon at a target engaged in melee with a friendly character, you take a -4 penalty on your attack roll. Two characters are engaged in melee if they are enemies of each other and either threatens the other. (An unconscious or otherwise immobilized character is not considered engaged unless he is actually being attacked.)

Both conditions apply, they aren't the same modifier, and they're caused by different things.
 

This is exactly why Precise Shot is actually a pretty good feat choice for a spellcaster who likes casting ray spells -- it is pretty darn common for one or both of these mods to apply when brawling in a corridor.
 

Now this brings up an interesting question... how about spells that require no roll to hit? For example, if a wizard casts Kelgore's Fire Bolt, can they even cast on that opponent? The spell says nothing about requiring an attack roll, nor does it say "strikes the first creature in its path" (not 100% sure as I don't have the book handy at the moment). However, my group rules that in this respect you don't have line of sight because it would go through your friend and that it would strike your friend first. However, I cannot find anything specifically saying this in the rules; I was under the impression that you had LOS if you could see your target, regardless of any cover he may have (since that's cover, not Line Of Sight).
 

As long as you can see them, you have line of sight. You also have to have line of effect, but again, you have that in this case. (A wall of force is something which allows LOS but blocks LOE). Total cover or concealment, however, would prevent targetting a spell. (Although there's a rule for targetting invisible creatures by touching them.)
 

starwed said:
As long as you can see them, you have line of sight. You also have to have line of effect, but again, you have that in this case. (A wall of force is something which allows LOS but blocks LOE). Total cover or concealment, however, would prevent targetting a spell. (Although there's a rule for targetting invisible creatures by touching them.)
Sorry, I lost you.. so in a case like that I would have LOE and could cast the spell, even if my ally is in front of the enemy? Or would it still strike my ally and not the intended target?
 

wayne62682 said:
Sorry, I lost you.. so in a case like that I would have LOE and could cast the spell, even if my ally is in front of the enemy? Or would it still strike my ally and not the intended target?
If you have line of sight, you have line of effect unless an invisible obstacle blocks it (like a wall of force). In the above case, you have both so you could cast the ray spell. You only have a chance of hitting your ally if you use the variant striking cover rule as noted on the bottom of page 24 of the DMG.
 

wayne62682 said:
Sorry, I lost you.. so in a case like that I would have LOE and could cast the spell, even if my ally is in front of the enemy? Or would it still strike my ally and not the intended target?

A wall will block line of effect, unless there is at least a one-square-foot gap in the given five-foot-square of wall.

So a gelatinous cube might block line of effect... but in general, your buddy the barbarian won't... there's much more than one square foot of space he doesn't occupy, in his five foot square.

A spell that has "Target: One creature", and doesn't require an attack roll, is effectively completely unaffected by the melee, since a/ there's no attack roll to penalise, and b/ there's no check against AC, so the bonus is irrelevant.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
A wall will block line of effect, unless there is at least a one-square-foot gap in the given five-foot-square of wall.
Um, that's weird. I haven't seen this 1'-square business before. Can you point me in the direction of its source, please? Thanks
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top