Rith the Wanderer
First Post
(1) It really can't be (it would only take 1 word added to let it happen, mind).
(2) Now that I think on it more, the FAQ is even more messed up than the original. What the heck does "conjunction" mean in this context? You aren't using a Flaming weapon's at-will ability at the same time as you use a class attack: a Flaming weapon's at-will ability is its own free action.
Well I imagine the in conjunction part is referring to the effect of the Flaming weapon at will ability. The effect of the flaming weapon's ability is the fire damage, and using a power while under the effect of this ability (dealing fire damage) is a fine definition for "in conjunction" I think.
Where I, personally, think the ambiguity in the original PHB text is in the sentence "use a magic item as part of..." I'm not really sure what "use" (wield, hold, activating a power of?) means in that sentence. You may assume that it means wield, as in a weapon or implement, but I do think that is at best implied, and not spelled out.
I know I never even considered the possibility that it meant all the power keywords all the time until I read it on the boards.