Magic missle and sneak attack

Also it should be noted that the extra sneak attack damage is the same kind of damage as the spell produces. ecept in the case of level drains or ability damage then the extra damage is calculated as negative energy damage (what in gods name besides undead is resistant to that?). Im pretty sure this still counts as precision damage so anythung blocking that can still blcok SA's.

For example a Rog 5/ Sor 1 who shoots a ray of frost at the bard in his cups. if he succeeds on his ranged touch attack then he would do 1d3+3d6 cold damage.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

frankthedm said:
The poison, not the spell, does the damage from the way it looks. The touch attacks deals the poison. the poison deals the stat damage

But it is close enough to be debatable either way

Would using a "Punch" to deliver the poison work as the same as the touch attack? Providing that you do hit, because with a punch the Armor would also be factored in besides the usual AOO.
 

Would using a "Punch" to deliver the poison work as the same as the touch attack? Providing that you do hit, because with a punch the Armor would also be factored in besides the usual AOO.

Well, in that case you would be doing two standard actions in the same round (unless the spell were quickened) -- casting a spell, & making an unarmed attack.

Slightly off-topic, but sneak attack with a thrown splash weapon (obviously targeting an NPC & not a square in order to get the sneak damage)... with the Shaped Splash feat from Races of Eberron, would the secondary attack against an adjacent foe also get the sneak damage if it hits (it does require a second attack roll)? For that matter, would crits work in such a case?
 
Last edited:

Snapdragyn said:
Well, in that case you would be doing two standard actions in the same round (unless the spell were quickened) -- casting a spell, & making an unarmed attack.
No, the first attempt at delivering the spell is included in it's casting action.

According to Tome & Blood, you could attempt to deliver a touch spell with an unarmed strike rather than the usual touch, although you have to suffer all the usual cons (AoO, normal AC rather than touch). I can't think of any reason why that shouldn't still work.

Of course, in that case the sneak attack (and crit) damage is unarmed strike damage rather than what the spell does.


glass.
 

glass said:
No, the first attempt at delivering the spell is included in it's casting action.
Only if you deliver it by touch. If you deliver it by an unarmed strike, then it requires a separate standard action (or part of a full attack action).
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Only if you deliver it by touch. If you deliver it by an unarmed strike, then it requires a separate standard action (or part of a full attack action).
Well, p. 73 of Complete Arcane has this to say on the interaction of Improved Unarmed Strike with a touch spell:
Complete Arcane said:
You can add the damage of your unarmed strike to the damage of a touch spell by delivering the spell as a regular melee attack instead of a melee touch attack. The defender gets the full benefit of armor and shield, but if the attack hits, the unarmed strike deals normal damage over and above any damage the spell does as it is discharged. If the unarmed strike misses, the spell is not discharged.
Emphasis mine. The text implies that any time you could make a melee touch attack to deliver a spell, such as during the round it is cast, you could deliver it as a regular melee attack instead.
 

Snapdragyn said:
Slightly off-topic, but sneak attack with a thrown splash weapon (obviously targeting an NPC & not a square in order to get the sneak damage)... with the Shaped Splash feat from Races of Eberron, would the secondary attack against an adjacent foe also get the sneak damage if it hits (it does require a second attack roll)? For that matter, would crits work in such a case?
Since each attack requires a separate attack roll, I would say that the chance for a crit should be checked separately for each attack. As for sneak attack, I would base it off Boomerang Ricochet in the same book and rule that the second target would not be vulnerable to a sneak attack.
 

FireLance said:
Well, p. 73 of Complete Arcane has this to say on the interaction of Improved Unarmed Strike with a touch spell:

Emphasis mine. The text implies that any time you could make a melee touch attack to deliver a spell, such as during the round it is cast, you could deliver it as a regular melee attack instead.

Holding the Charge: If you don’t discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the discharge of the spell (hold the charge) indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren’t considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. (If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack.) If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Note that making an unarmed attack is only listed as an option while holding the charge... which requires that one not discharge the spell in the round you cast it.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top