Making an Attack Roll with Fireball?

"If you attempt to send the bead through a narrow passage, such as through an arrow slit, you must “hit” the opening with a ranged touch attack, or else the bead strikes the barrier and detonates prematurely."

That part, I think I understand.

But, does the player have to roll to hit when casting fireball when narrow passages aren't involved?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Thank you. I thought that maybe I'd badly misunderstood the rules for all this time. I've never required a player to roll to hit with fireball or similar spells. The question came to mind while reading another thread.
 

It sounds like you've got it right. Normally, Fireball is an area attack, which doesn't require any roll on the part of the player (aside from a damage roll). However, Fireball itself is a special case (most likely as a holdover from earlier editions of D&D- Fireball is no more powerful than any other area spell of the same level, yet it holds this somewhat arbitrary mechanic) that only comes into play when the situation warrants it.
 

It sounds like you've got it right. Normally, Fireball is an area attack, which doesn't require any roll on the part of the player (aside from a damage roll). However, Fireball itself is a special case (most likely as a holdover from earlier editions of D&D- Fireball is no more powerful than any other area spell of the same level, yet it holds this somewhat arbitrary mechanic) that only comes into play when the situation warrants it.
What's particularly useful about that is that a Fireball can thereby bypass Line of Effect... which requires at least one square foot of gap in a five by five section of wall. You can't cast Charm Person through the cell door that is solid save for a small barred window. Fireball, on the other hand....
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top